AMA Elections

House of Delegates AMA Board and Council candidates' election

The American Medical Association House of Delegates (HOD) elects officers and council members at each Interim and Annual Meeting.

COVID-19 statement

At this time the AMA Annual Meeting is still set to take place, but the Board of Trustees and senior management are monitoring the situation and developments and will take necessary actions, and keep the House, Sections and Federation apprised.

The AMA continues to work with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state and local health departments to monitor and respond to the COVID-19 pandemic. The AMA will take appropriate precautionary measures to support the health and safety of attendees at the 2020 Annual Meeting. As this is an evolving situation, we will update this page as needed.

Visit the AMA COVID-19 resources for physicians site for the latest information and to stay updated.

Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates

Visit the 2020 meeting site for information on the business of the HOD, reports and more.

Meeting Overview

Announced candidates for election at the 2020 Annual Meeting


Board of Trustees

Council on Constitution and Bylaws

Council on Medical Education

Council on Medical Service

Council on Medical Service (Resident)

Council on Science and Public Health


2019 Interim Meeting election

Board of Trustees/Public Member

Harris Pastides, PhD, was elected to the Board. He will begin his term after the 2020 Annual Meeting.