Physicians of the Future Summit—Region 3

Physicians of the Future Summit—Region 3
Feb 3, 2024
Physicians of the Future Summit—Region 3_Graphic

Each year, the Medical Student Section regions host Physicians of the Future Summits which allow for educational programs and further discussion on leadership development relevant to each region and its membership.

Medical students will have the opportunity at the summit to learn how to grow their leadership skills and use these skills to advocate for the medical profession.

Physicians of the Future Summit-Region 3 is being held virtually Feb. 3, 2024.

Grow as a leader with AMA benefits

Become a member and get access to training and opportunities that can help medical students become physician leaders.

Registration is now open for the summit.

All regions will convene for a joint session on Feb. 3 from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Central, which will be followed by separate region summits. All regions will hold their individual summits on Feb. 3.

Information on how to access the meeting will be posted once available.

Plenary session agenda (all times are Central)

Please log in by 10:50 a.m.

11-11:15 a.m.

Welcome and introduction 

  • Abby Willgruber, MSS at-large officer

11:15-11:45 a.m.

Burnout and Perseverance

  • Lionel Vital, former NFL player and executive, motivational speaker

11:45-11:50 a.m.


11:50 a.m.-12:05 p.m.

Introduction to AMA Leadership for Medical Students

  • Abby Willgruber, MSS at-large officer

12:05-12:10 p.m.


12:10-12:40 p.m.

Women as Leaders in Medicine and Beyond

  • Kristin Lyerly, MD, MPH, obstetrician/gynecologist Tuba City Regional Health Care Corporation
  • Suman Tandon, MD, cardiologist, NYU Langone and NYC Health + Hospitals/Bellevue
  • Vijaya Appareddy, MD, psychiatrist, Tri-State Psychiatric Services

12:40-12:45 p.m.


12:45-1:15 p.m.

Service to Your Community

  • Joanna Bisgrove, MD, family medicine physician, Rush University Medical Group
  • Eileen Barrett, MD, MPH, MACP, associate professor of medicine, director of continuing medical education, and director of GME wellness initiatives at the University of New Mexico

1:15-1:20 p.m.


1:20-2:05 p.m.

Leadership Across the AMA Lifespan

  • Sophia Spadafore, MD, emergency physician and health policy fellow, Mount Sinai Hospital
  • Brandi Ring, MD, MBA, obstetrician/gynecologist, associate medical director for the Center for Children and Women
  • David Lee, MD, PGY 5, Northwestern Female Pelvic Medicine & Reconstructive Surgery Fellow
  • Anupriya Dayal, MD, radiation oncologist, Fox Chase Cancer Center
  • Luis Seija, MD, fellow, National Clinician Scholars Program at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania and Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

2:05-2:10 p.m.


2:10-2:40 p.m.

Leadership in Practice Models

  • Mark Meyer, MD, senior associate dean for student affairs, University of Kansas School of Medicine
  • Dan Choi, MD, orthopaedic spinal surgeon, Spine Medicine & Surgery of Long Island

2:40-2:45 p.m.


2:45-3 p.m.

Closing remarks and overview of regions

  • Abby Willgruber, MSS at-large officer

Download the plenary session agenda as a PDF.

Region 3 agenda (all times are Central)

3-3:15 p.m.

Region Welcome

  • Grace Jeong, vice chair, MSS Region 3, McGovern Medical School

3:15-3:45 p.m.

Leadership & Resilience in Medical School: Advocacy and Research

  • Rajadhar Reddy, Baylor College of Medicine, section delegate
  • Sereena Jivraj, Anne Burnett Marion School of Medicine at Texas Christian University

3:45-4 p.m.


4-4:30 p.m.

Leadership & Resilience in Residency

  • Ida Vaziri, MD, resident physician, George Washington University
  • Chris Wong, MD, resident physician, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Jenna Gage, MD, resident physician, Yale School of Medicine

4:30-4:50 p.m.

Leadership Networking

4:50-5 p.m.

Closing and Announcement of Award Winners

  • Grace Jeong, vice chair, MSS Region 3, McGovern Medical School

Download the region 3 agenda as a PDF.

Visit the other region summit pages for details of their events.