AMA PRA Credit System

AMA PRA Credit System requirements


At its recent interim meeting the AMA House of Delegates approved a resolution to allow physicians to claim an amount of AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ that more accurately reflects the learning associated with preparing and presenting an original presentation at a live AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ activity. While the credit reflects learning involved in the preparation, the amount of credit is based on presentation time. 

Membership Moves Medicine™

  • Free access to JAMA Network™ and CME
  • Save hundreds on insurance
  • Fight for physicians and patient rights
  • Limited-time half-price dues when you join!

Physicians may now claim up to four credits per each hour of presentation for eligible activities taking place on or after Jan. 1, 2023. The previous ratio was 2:1. Credit calculation for other types of faculty credit has not changed. Please contact [email protected] with questions.

The American Medical Association (AMA) and the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) have simplified and aligned their expectations for accredited CME activities certified for AMA Physician’s recognition Award (PRA) credit.

The revised AMA PRA credit system standards are designed to encourage innovation and flexibility in CME activities certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ while continuing to ensure that activities meet education standards and are independent of commercial influence. The AMA Council on Medical Education approved the alignment and simplification after receiving input from the CME community through a Call for Comment process.

Key points

  • The AMA core requirements and ACCME accreditation requirements are aligned and do not represent any new rules for accredited providers.
  • The AMA has simplified and reduced learning format requirements to provide more flexibility for accredited CME providers.
  • CME providers may design and deliver certified activities that use blended or new approaches to drive meaningful learning and change, as long as the provider abides by the core and credit requirements.
  • CME providers may designate an activity format as “other” if it does not fall into one of the established format categories.

The AMA provides information, resources and guidance about the AMA continuing medical education (CME) credit system for CME providers. Activities certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ must meet both the AMA's and the accreditor's requirements.

To certify educational activities for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ , the sponsoring organization must:

We compiled a list of frequently asked questions for CME providers (PDF). For issues regarding AMA PRA credit, review AMA's procedures for handling complaints.

Read the Council of Ethical and Judicial Affairs opinions relevant to CME activities on topics such as gifts to physicians from industry, continuing medical education, and financial relationships with industry in continuing medical education.

AMA International Conference Recognition Program

Non-profit organizations interested in providing AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ for your international meetings must meet eligibility criteria. Get more information on requirements, fees and how to apply.

AMA PRA credit system international agreements

The AMA has a process for developing agreements with national or international physician CME credit systems (PDF). If you are an authorized representative of an established physician CME credit system and are interested in exploring the feasibility of an agreement with the AMA, please review the eligibility requirements and criteria. Qualified applicants can request more information by contacting [email protected].

Physicians attending international events for CME credit

Physicians may earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ for participation in international events through the AMA’s International Conference Recognition Program or one of the AMA’s international agreements for conversion of credit to AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ with the following organizations: the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS), the Department of Healthcare Professions–Accreditation Section (DHP-AS), Ministry of Public Health–Qatar, and the European Board for Accreditation of Continuing Education for Health Professionals (EBAC©). Click on the links to learn more.

For more information, contact CME at [email protected] or (312) 464-4668.