CHICAGO — The American Medical Association (AMA) today announced the members of the search committee tasked with finding the new editor in chief of JAMA and JAMA Network™. Selecting search committee members is part of phase one of a four-phase search process that also includes nominating and recruiting candidates, interviews with search committee members, and presentations of vision statements by finalists. Interested applicants can provide their CV/qualifications to [email protected].

Otis Brawley, M.D., Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Oncology and Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins University will serve as chair of the search committee, which includes 18 leaders from across medicine and academia from throughout the country. Brawley twice chaired the search committee for the editor in chief of the journal Cancer.

“JAMA is one of the world’s preeminent journals— steeped in data, research, and cutting-edge medical science – that helps drive the future of medicine,” said Dr. Brawley. “Our task—and the reason I am so pleased to be joined by such an outstanding group of colleagues on this search committee—is finding the leader not just worthy of JAMA, but capable of leading the JAMA Network into a new era.”

Until a new editor is named, JAMA Executive Editor Phil Fontanarosa, M.D., will continue to serve as interim editor in chief.

The search committee members are:

Otis Brawley, M.D., Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Oncology and Epidemiology, Johns Hopkins University

L. Ebony Boulware, M.D., Nanaline Duke Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Director, Duke Clinical and Translational Science Institute and Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine in the Department of Medicine, Duke University School of Medicine; Member, JAMA Editorial Board

Dedra Buchwald, M.D., Director and Professor, Institute for Research and Education to Advance Community Health, Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine

Carlos Del Rio, M.D., Distinguished Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Emory University School of Medicine, and Professor of Global Health and Epidemiology, Rollins School of Public Health; International Secretary, National Academy of Medicine; Member; JAMA Editorial Board

Susan Dentzer, Senior Policy Fellow at Robert J. Margolis Center for Health Policy, Duke University

Victor Dzau, M.D., President of the Institute of Medicine and the National Academy of Medicine

Tom Easley, AMA Senior Vice President, Publishing and Mission Operations, and Executive Publisher, JAMA Network

Ashish Jha, M.D., Dean of the Brown University School of Public Health, Professor of Health Services, Policy and Practice

Melina Kibbe, M.D., Chair of the Department of Surgery, University of North Carolina (Dean of the UVA School of Medicine and chief health affairs officer for UVA Health, effective September 15, 2021); Editor in Chief JAMA Surgery

James Madara, M.D., AMA Chief Executive Officer

Spero Manson, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Colorado Trust Chair in American Indian Health, and Director, Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health, Colorado School of Public Health, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Graham McMahon, M.D., MMSC, President and CEO, Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, Adjunct Professor of Medicine and Medical Education, Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine

Sudip Parikh, Ph.D., CEO and Executive Publisher, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Lori Pierce, M.D., Professor of Radiation Oncology and Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs at the University of Michigan

Neil R. Powe, M.D., M.P.H., MBA, Chief of Medicine, Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Constance B. Wofsy Distinguished Professor of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco; Journal Oversight Committee representative

Jack Resneck, M.D., Professor and Vice-Chair of Dermatology, UCSF School of Medicine; AMA Board of Trustees representative (President-Elect)

Melissa A. Simon, M.D., M.P.H., Vice Chair for Research and George H. Gardner Chair of Clinical Gynecology, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern; Director Center for Health Equity Transformation, the Institute for Public Health and Medicine and the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center

Jennifer Tsai, M.D., M.Ed, resident physician, Yale School of Medicine, Dept. of Emergency Medicine

In addition, the AMA has appointed key advisors from AMA and JAMA Network staff to participate in this process. These advisors are: Toni Canada, SVP of Human Resources; Annette Flanagin, Executive Managing Editor, JAMA and JAMA Network;  Phil Fontanarosa, MD, Interim Editor in Chief, JAMA; Aletha Maybank, M.D., M.P.H., SVP, Chief Health Equity Officer, AMA; Brian Shields, GVP, Publisher, JAMA and JAMA Network; and Joseph Thornton, J.D., Sr. Assistant General Counsel, Publishing and Editorial Counsel.

Media Contact:

AMA Media & Editorial

ph: (312) 464-4430

[email protected]

About the American Medical Association

The American Medical Association is the physicians’ powerful ally in patient care. As the only medical association that convenes 190+ state and specialty medical societies and other critical stakeholders, the AMA represents physicians with a unified voice to all key players in health care.  The AMA leverages its strength by removing the obstacles that interfere with patient care, leading the charge to prevent chronic disease and confront public health crises and, driving the future of medicine to tackle the biggest challenges in health care.