Senior management


To contact AMA senior leadership and AMA staff, visit the Staff Directory (members only).

James L. Madara, MD

James L. Madara, MD, Chief Executive Officer & Executive Vice President, Pathology, Full Bio

Todd Askew, Senior Vice President, Advocacy, Executive and Board Offices

Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, MD, PhD, MAS, Senior Vice President & Editor-in-Chief, Scientific Publications

Toni Canada, Senior Vice President, HR & Corporate Services, Human Resources

Thomas J. Easley, Senior Vice President, Chief Mission Officer, Publishing

Jon Giacomin, Senior Vice President & Chief Operating Officer

Denise M. Hagerty, Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Finance

Andra Heller, General Counsel, Office of General Counsel 

Susan Malisch, Senior Vice President & Chief Information Officer, Information Technology

Aletha Maybank, MD, MPH, Senior Vice President, Chief Health Equity Officer, Center for Health Equity

Lori Prestesater, Senior Vice President, Health Solutions, Health Solutions

Kenneth J. Sharigian, Chief Strategy Officer & Chair of Operating Committee, Executive and Board Offices

Rodrigo A. Sierra, Senior Vice President, Chief Communications Officer, Enterprise Communications

Todd Unger, Senior Vice President & Chief Experience Officer, Marketing and Member Experience 

Half the dues, all the AMA benefits!

  • Free access to JAMA Network™ and CME
  • Save hundreds on insurance
  • Fight for physicians and patient rights

Frederick Chen, MD, MPH, Group Vice President, Chief Health & Science Officer, Health, Science & Ethics

Sanjay Desai, MD, Group Vice President, Chief Academic Officer, Medical Education

Pamela T. Moy, Group Vice President & General Manager, AMA Insurance, AMA Insurance

Teresa Otten, Group Vice President, Chief of Staff, Executive and Board Offices

Michael Rakotz, MD, Group Vice President, Improving Health Outcomes

Brian Shields, Group Vice President, Publisher, Publishing

Michael A. Tutty, PhD, Group Vice President, Physician Satisfaction & Practice Sustainability

AMA Health Solutions

Lori Prestesater, Senior Vice President, Health Solutions, Health Solutions

AMA Foundation

Virginia Spitzer, Executive Director, AMA Foundation

AMA Insurance Agency, Inc.

Pamela T. Moy, Group Vice President & General Manager AMA Insurance Agency

Health2047, Inc.

Lawrence K. Cohen, CEO and Board Member, Health 2047 Inc.