CHICAGO — The American Medical Association (AMA) today introduced the 21 members of its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held during the Annual Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates.

David O. Barbe, M.D., M.H.A., a family physician from Mountain Grove, Mo., was sworn in as the 172th president of the American Medical Association (AMA). In leading the nation’s largest physician organization, Dr. Barbe will focus his tenure on advancing the AMA’s strategy to improve health outcomes for Americans living with pre-diabetes and hypertension; accelerate change in medical education and prepare students for today’s health care system; and enhance physician satisfaction and practice sustainability.

Barbara L. McAneny, M.D., an oncologist from Albuquerque, N.M., was elected as the AMA’s new president-elect, while Andrew W. Gurman, M.D., an orthopaedic hand surgeon from Hollidaysburg, Penn., assumed the office of the AMA’s immediate past president.

The new chair of the AMA Board of Trustees is Gerald E. Harmon, M.D., a family physician from Pawleys Island, S.C. Jack Resneck, Jr., M.D., a dermatologist from San Francisco, Calif., was named chair-elect.

The other executive officers on the AMA Board of Trustees for 2017-2018 are:

  • Susan R. Bailey, M.D., an allergist practicing in Fort Worth, Texas, was re-elected speaker of the AMA’s House of Delegates.
  • Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H., an anesthesiologist from Nashville, Tenn., was named secretary.
  • Patrice A. Harris, M.D., M.A., a psychiatrist from Atlanta, Ga. assumed the office of immediate past chair.

The newly elected members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • S. Bobby Mukkamala, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Flint, Mich.
  • Ryan Ribeira, M.D., M.P.H., a resident physician in emergency medicine at Stanford University, is from Castro Valley, Calif.
  • Karthik V. Sarma, M.S., a medical student at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, is from Chicago, Ill.

The returning members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • Willarda V. Edwards, M.D., M.B.A., an internist from Baltimore, Md.
  • Russell W.H. Kridel, M.D., a facial plastic surgeon from Houston, Texas.
  • William E. Kobler, M.D., a family physician from Rockford, Ill.
  • William A. McDade, M.D., Ph.D., an anesthesiologist from New Orleans, La.
  • Albert J. Osbahr III, M.D., a family and occupational physician from Hickory, N.C.
  • Stephen R. Permut, M.D., J.D., a family physician from Wilmington, Del.
  • Bruce A. Scott, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Louisville, Ky., was re-elected vice speaker of the AMA’s House of Delegates.
  • Carl A. Sirio, M.D., a critical care physician and internist from Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • Georgia A. Tuttle, M.D., a dermatologist from Lebanon, N.H.
  • Kevin W. Williams, a former senior executive at General Motors from Nashville, Tenn., is the public member on the AMA Board.

Members of the AMA Board of Trustees are elected by physicians and medical students representing more than 190 state and specialty medical societies who gathered in Chicago this week for the Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates, the AMA's policy-making body. The mission of the AMA is the promotion of the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

Media Contact:

Robert J. Mills

ph: (312) 464-5970

[email protected]

About the American Medical Association

The American Medical Association is the premier national organization providing timely, essential resources to empower physicians, residents and medical students to succeed at every phase of their medical lives. Physicians have entrusted the AMA to advance the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health on behalf of patients for more than 170 years.