Back to top

ICD-10 Overview

Back to top

The transition to ICD-10 occurred on Oct. 1, 2015.  As a HIPAA-mandated code set, all covered entities (physicians, other health care providers, payers and clearinghouses) must use ICD-10 to be in compliance with HIPAA.  (Note:  Property and casualty, auto and workers’ compensation insurance are not covered entities and are therefore not required to comply with HIPAA.  State law dictates whether they are required to use ICD-10 or continue to use ICD-9.) 

Updates to the ICD-10 code set are made yearly and are effective Oct. 1. 

If you encounter any issues with a payer, clearinghouse or other provider not in compliance with the current ICD-10 codes, contact the organization and attempt to resolve the issue.  If you are unable to resolve the issue with the organization, you can file a complaint with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the enforcer of HIPAA code sets. 

CMS/AMA Guidance for ICD-10 Flexibility

Three months before the Oct. 1, 2015 deadline, CMS and the AMA announced efforts to continue to help physicians prepare for ICD-10. Read about CMS’s response to AMA concerns, as well as CMS’s Clarifying Questions and Answers document (PDF).

AMA Advocacy

The AMA has long advocated for physicians by voicing concerns with the code set to powerful stakeholders and policymakers. Read the most recent advocacy letters, calls, responses and testimonies.

ICD-10 Educational Resources & Implementation Tools

The AMA and Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) provide a number of ICD-10 resources.

You can also visit the CMS website for additional information.   

AMA ICD-10 Products

The AMA Store offers training materials and other resources to help you understand and assign ICD-10 diagnostic and procedural codes. Our books are available in print and eBook format. Choose from among the following or view all of our ICD-10 offerings:

Print this page Email this page