CHICAGO — The American Medical Association (AMA) today introduced the 21 members of its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held during the Annual Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates.

Andrew W. Gurman, M.D., an orthopaedic hand surgeon from Hollidaysburg, Penn., was sworn in as the 171st president of the American Medical Association (AMA). In leading the nation's largest physician organization, Dr. Gurman will focus his tenure on advancing the AMA's three strategic focus areas, to: improve health outcomes for Americans living with pre-diabetes and hypertension; accelerate change in medical education and prepare students for today's health care system; and enhance physician satisfaction and practice sustainability.

David O. Barbe, M.D., M.H.A., a family physician from Mountain Grove, Mo., was elected as the AMA's new president-elect, while Steven J. Stack, M.D., an emergency physician practicing in Lexington, Ky., assumed the office of the AMA's immediate past president.

The new chair of the AMA Board of Trustees is Patrice A. Harris, M.D., M.A. a psychiatrist from Atlanta, Ga. She is the first African-American woman to hold this office. Gerald E. Harmon, M.D., a family physician from Pawleys Island, S.C., was named chair-elect.

The other executive officers on the AMA Board of Trustees for 2016-2017 are:

  • Susan R. Bailey, M.D., an allergist practicing in Fort Worth, Texas, was re-elected speaker of the AMA's House of Delegates.
  • Stephen R. Permut, M.D., J.D., a family medicine physician from Wilmington, Del., assumed the office of immediate past chair.
  • Jack Resneck, Jr. M.D., a dermatologist from San Francisco, Calif., was elected secretary.
  • Bruce A. Scott, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Louisville, Ky., was re-elected vice speaker of the AMA's House of Delegates.

The re-elected member of the AMA Board of Trustees is:

  • William E. Kobler, M.D., a family physician from Rockford, Ill.

The newly-elected members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • Willarda V. Edwards, M.D., M.B.A., an internal medicine physician from Baltimore, Md.
  • Omar Z. Maniya, M.B.A.,a medical student at the Georgetown University School of Medicine in Washington, D.C.
  • William A. McDade, M.D., Ph.D., an anesthesiologist from Chicago, Ill.
  • Kevin W. Williams, a former senior executive at General Motors from Nashville, Tenn., is the public member on the AMA Board.

The returning members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • Maya A. Babu, M.D., M.B.A., a neurosurgical resident completing a fellowship in Rochester, Minn.
  • Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H., an anesthesiologist from Nashville, Tenn.
  • Russell W.H. Kridel, M.D., a facial plastic surgeon from Houston, Texas.
  • Barbara L. McAneny, M.D., a medical oncologist/hematologist from Albuquerque, N.M.
  • Albert J. Osbahr III, M.D., a family and occupational physician from Hickory, N.C.
  • Carl A. Sirio, M.D., a critical care physician and internist from Pittsburgh, Pa.,
  • Georgia A. Tuttle, M.D., a dermatologist from Lebanon, N.H.

Members of the AMA Board of Trustees are elected by physicians and medical students representing more than 190 state and specialty medical societies who gathered in Chicago this week for the Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates, the AMA's policy-making body. The mission of the AMA Board of Trustees is to foster the promotion of the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

Media Contact:

AMA Media & Editorial

ph: (312) 464-4430

[email protected]

About the American Medical Association

The American Medical Association is the physicians’ powerful ally in patient care. As the only medical association that convenes 190+ state and specialty medical societies and other critical stakeholders, the AMA represents physicians with a unified voice to all key players in health care.  The AMA leverages its strength by removing the obstacles that interfere with patient care, leading the charge to prevent chronic disease and confront public health crises and, driving the future of medicine to tackle the biggest challenges in health care.