CHICAGO — The American Medical Association (AMA) today introduced the 21 members of its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held during the Special Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates.

Gerald E. Harmon, M.D., a family medicine physician from Pawleys Island, S.C., was sworn in as the 176th president of the AMA. With Dr. Harmon’s inauguration as AMA president, the office passed from Susan R. Bailey, M.D., an allergist and immunologist from Fort Worth, Texas and the third consecutive women to have held the office of AMA president. With the conclusion of her term as AMA president, Dr. Bailey assumed the office of AMA immediate past president.

Jack Resneck Jr., M.D., a dermatologist from San Rafael, Calif., was elected AMA president-elect. Dr. Resneck will become AMA president in June 2022.

Bobby Mukkamala, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Flint, Mich., is the new chair of the AMA Board of Trustees, and Sandra Adamson Fryhofer, M.D., an internist from Atlanta, Ga. is the new chair-elect of the Board.

The other executive committee members on the Board of Trustees for 2020-2021 are:

  • Scott Ferguson, M.D., a diagnostic radiologist from West Memphis, Ark., is secretary.
  • Russ Kridel, M.D., a facial plastic surgeon from Houston, Texas, is immediate past chair.
  • Bruce A. Scott, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Louisville, Ky., is speaker of the AMA House of Delegates.

The new members of the Board of Trustees are:

  • Madelyn E. Butler, M.D., an obstetrician-gynecologist from Tampa, Fla.
  • Drayton Charles Harvey, a medical student and Ph.D. candidate at the University of Southern California’s Keck School of Medicine.
  • Pratistha Koirala, M.D., Ph.D., an obstetrics-gynecology resident and molecular pharmacologist from Danbury, Conn.

The serving members of the Board of Trustees are:

  • David H. Aizuss, M.D., an ophthalmologist from Encino, Calif.
  • Willarda V. Edwards, M.D., M.B.A., an internist from Baltimore, Md.
  • Lisa Bohman Egbert, M.D., an obstetrician-gynecologist from Kettering, Ohio, and vice speaker of the AMA House of Delegates
  • Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H, an anesthesiologist from Milwaukee, Wis.
  • Ilse R. Levin, D.O., M.P.H. & T.M., an internist and epidemiologist from Silver Spring, Md.
  • Thomas J. Madejski, M.D., a geriatrician and palliative care specialist from Medina, N.Y.
  • Mario E. Motta, M.D., a cardiologist from Salem, Mass.
  • Harris Pastides, Ph.D., M.P.H., president emeritus and interim president of the University of South Carolina and the public member of the AMA Board from Folly Beach, S.C.
  • Michael Suk, M.D., J.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., an orthopaedic surgeon from Danville, Penn.
  • Willie Underwood, III, M.D., M.Sc., M.P.H., a urologist from Buffalo, N.Y.

Members of the AMA Board of Trustees are elected by physicians and medical students representing more than 190 state and specialty medical societies who gathered virtually for the Special Meeting of the House of Delegates, the AMA’s policy-making body. The mission of the AMA is the promotion of the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

Media Contact:

Robert J. Mills

ph: (312) 464-5970

[email protected]

About the American Medical Association

The American Medical Association is the physicians’ powerful ally in patient care. As the only medical association that convenes 190+ state and specialty medical societies and other critical stakeholders, the AMA represents physicians with a unified voice to all key players in health care.  The AMA leverages its strength by removing the obstacles that interfere with patient care, leading the charge to prevent chronic disease and confront public health crises and, driving the future of medicine to tackle the biggest challenges in health care.

Featured Stories