The American Medical Association awards program

The AMA is committed to recognizing and honoring those who exemplify medicine's highest values: commitment to service, community involvement, altruism and leadership.

Available AMA awards

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Citation for Distinguished Service
  • AMA Medal of Valor
  • Scientific Achievement Award
  • Benjamin Rush Award for Citizenship and Community Service
  • President's Citation for Service to the Public
  • Dr. William Beaumont Award in Medicine
  • AMA Foundation Award for Health Education
  • Isaac Hays, MD and John Bell, MD Award for Leadership in Medical Ethics and Professionalism
  • Medical Executive Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Medical Executive Meritorious Achievement Award
  • Community Service Award
  • Young at Heart Award

AMA award nomination instructions

  • Candidates may be nominated for more than one award
  • Nominations for awards should be presented on an official awards nomination form
  • Include a sponsor's statement and endorsement statements
  • Include the candidates' curriculum vitae
  • Submit the AMA awards nomination form (PDF) by the deadline of Feb. 17, 2020
  • Email nominations to the House of Delegates at [email protected]

For additional information on AMA award nominations, contact Roger Brown at (312) 464-4344.

AMA Foundation awards 

The mission of the AMA Foundation is to advance public health and medical scholarship through support of physician-directed initiatives.

The AMA Foundation is committed to improving the health of Americans by increasing support for public health programs, including grants for free clinics and health education projects.

Available AMA Foundation awards:

Other awards

The AMA Physician’s Recognition Award (PRA) honors physicians who have demonstrated their commitment to patient care through continuing medical education (CME).

Find descriptions and criteria for each of AMA’s awards for physicians, medical students and residents. Learn more about the AMA Foundation awards.