WASHINGTON, D.C. — The American Medical Association (AMA) today announced the 10 recipients of the 2017 Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service — the highest award for elected officials and government employees from the nation’s largest physician organization.

“The Nathan Davis Awards gratefully acknowledge the men and women in government service whose significant accomplishments have advanced the well-being of all,” said AMA Board Chair Patrice A. Harris, M.D.

The award, named after the AMA’s founding father, recognizes elected and career officials in federal, state or municipal service whose outstanding contributions have promoted the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

United States Senate

Senator John Barrasso, M.D.

United States House of Representatives

U.S. Representative Phil Roe, M.D.

Member of the Executive Branch Serving by Presidential/Political Appointment

Andrew Slavitt, Former Acting Administrator, Centers or Medicare & Medicaid Services

Member of the Executive Branch in Career Public Service

Patrick Conway, M.D., M.Sc., Acting Administrator, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Member of the Executive Branch in Career Public Service for Scientific Advancement

Janine Austin Clayton, M.D., Associate Director for Research on Women's Health and Director of the Office of Research on Women's Health at the National Institutes of Health

Member of a State General Assembly

Wisconsin State Representative John Nygren

Member of a State Senate

Texas State Senator Kirk Watson

Governor of Elected Statewide Official

Dave Jones, California Insurance Commissioner

Career Public Servant at the State Level

Elizabeth H. Roberts, Former Rhode Island Secretary of Health and Human Services

Career Public Servant at the Local Level

Don Crowson, Chief, Arlington Fire Department, Arlington, Texas

”For more than a quarter century of the Nathan Davis Awards, the AMA has sought to salute government officials who go above and beyond the call of duty to improve public health,” said Dr. Harris. “Award winners have come from every branch of government service and confirm the important role public officials can have creating and implementing health policies that benefit Americans.”

The awards were presented last night at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. as part of the AMA’s National Advocacy Conference.

Media Contact:

AMA Media & Editorial

ph: (312) 464-4430

[email protected]

About the American Medical Association

The American Medical Association is the physicians’ powerful ally in patient care. As the only medical association that convenes 190+ state and specialty medical societies and other critical stakeholders, the AMA represents physicians with a unified voice to all key players in health care.  The AMA leverages its strength by removing the obstacles that interfere with patient care, leading the charge to prevent chronic disease and confront public health crises and, driving the future of medicine to tackle the biggest challenges in health care.