CHICAGO — The American Medical Association (AMA) today introduced the 21 members of its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held during the Annual Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates.

Barbara L. McAneny, M.D., an oncologist from Albuquerque, N.M., was sworn in as the 173rd president of the AMA. In leading the nation’s largest physician organization, Dr. McAneny will focus her tenure on the AMA’s three strategic arcs: attacking the dysfunction in health care by removing obstacles and barriers that interfere with patient care; reimagining medical education, training and lifelong learning to help physicians adapt and grow in the digital age; and improving the health of the nation by confronting the increasing chronic disease burden.

Patrice A. Harris, M.D., a psychiatrist from Atlanta, was elected as the AMA’s new president-elect, while David O. Barbe, M.D., M.H.A., a family physician from Mountain Grove, Mo., assumed the office of the AMA’s immediate past president.

The new chair of the AMA Board of Trustees is Jack Resneck, Jr., M.D., a dermatologist from San Rafael, Calif. Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H, an anesthesiologist from Nashville, Tenn., was named chair-elect.

The other executive officers on the AMA Board of Trustees for 2018-2019 are:

  • Susan R. Bailey, M.D., an allergist practicing in Fort Worth, Texas, the newly re-elected speaker of the AMA’s House of Delegates.
  • Gerald E. Harmon, M.D., a family physician from Pawleys Island, S.C., the newly instated immediate past chair.
  • Russell W.H. Kridel, M.D., a facial plastic surgeon from Houston, Texas, the newly inducted secretary.

The newly elected members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • E. Scott Ferguson, M.D., a diagnostic radiologist from West Memphis, Ark.
  • Sandra A. Fryhofer, M.D., an internist from Atlanta, Ga.
  • Mario E. Motta, M.D., a cardiologist from Salem, Mass.

The returning members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • Willarda V. Edwards, M.D., M.B.A., an internist from Baltimore, Md.
  • William E. Kobler, M.D., a family physician from Rockford, Ill.
  • William A. McDade, M.D., Ph.D., an anesthesiologist from Metairie, La.
  • S. Bobby Mukkamala, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Flint, Mich.
  • Albert J. Osbahr III, M.D., a family and occupational physician from Hickory, N.C.
  • Ryan J. Ribeira, M.D., M.P.H., a resident physician in emergency medicine at Stanford University from Mount View, Calif.
  • Karthik V. Sarma, M.S., a medical student at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA in Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Bruce A. Scott, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Louisville, Ky., the newly re-elected vice speaker of the AMA’s House of Delegates.
  • Georgia A. Tuttle, M.D., a dermatologist from Lebanon, N.H.
  • Kevin W. Williams, M.S.A., a former senior executive at General Motors from Nashville, Tenn., the public member of the AMA Board.

Members of the AMA Board of Trustees are elected by physicians and medical students representing more than 190 state and specialty medical societies who gathered in Chicago this week for the Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates, the AMA's policy-making body. The mission of the AMA is the promotion of the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

Follow AMA News on Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Google Plus

Media Contact:

Robert J. Mills

ph: (312) 464-5970

[email protected]

About the American Medical Association

The American Medical Association is the physicians’ powerful ally in patient care. As the only medical association that convenes 190+ state and specialty medical societies and other critical stakeholders, the AMA represents physicians with a unified voice to all key players in health care.  The AMA leverages its strength by removing the obstacles that interfere with patient care, leading the charge to prevent chronic disease and confront public health crises and, driving the future of medicine to tackle the biggest challenges in health care.

Featured Stories