The RUC represents the entire medical profession, with 22 of its 32 members appointed by major national medical specialty societies. The members include those recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties, those with a large percentage of physicians in patient care and those that account for high percentages of Medicare expenditures.

The RUC also includes four seats that rotate on a two-year basis, with two reserved for an internal medicine subspecialty, one for a primary care representative and one for any other specialty. Furthermore, there are seats for the RUC chair, the co-chair of the RUC Healthcare Professionals Advisory Committee Review Board, and representatives from the AMA, American Osteopathic Association, the Chair of the Practice Expense Review Committee and CPT® Editorial Panel.

The AMA Board of Trustees selects the RUC chair and the AMA representative to the RUC. Specialty societies nominate RUC individual members, who the AMA must also approve.


American Medical Association Representative

CPT Editorial Panel Representative

American Osteopathic Association Representative

Health Care Professionals Advisory Committee Representative

Practice Expense Review Committee Representative

  • Anesthesiology
  • Cardiology
  • Interventional Cardiology*
  • Dermatology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Family Medicine
  • Gastroenterology*
  • General Surgery
  • Geriatric Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • Neurology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Obstetrics/Gynecology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Otolaryngology
  • Pathology
  • Pediatrics
  • Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Primary Care*
  • Psychiatry
  • Radiology
  • Rheumatology*
  • Thoracic Surgery
  • Urology

* Indicates rotating seat

Current RUC Members

RUC Chairperson: Ezequiel Silva III, MD

American Medical Association: Peter Hollmann, MD

CPT Editorial Panel: Jordan Pritzker, MD

Health Care Professional Advisory Committee: Richard Rausch, DPT, MBA

Practice Expense Subcommittee: Scott Manaker, MD

American Academy of Dermatology: Scott Collins, MD

American Academy of Family Physicians: Thomas Weida, MD

American Academy of Neurology: Marc Raphaelson, MD

American Academy of Ophthalmology: Jeffrey P. Edelstein, MD

American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons: Dale Blasier, MD

American Academy of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery: Bradley Marple, MD

American Academy of Pediatrics: Margie Andreae, MD

American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation: Matthew Grierson, MD

American Association of Neurological Surgeons: G. Edward Vates, MD

American College of Cardiology: James Blankenship, MD

American College of Emergency Physicians: John H. Proctor, MD

American College of Gastroenterology/American Gastroenterological Association/American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy: Daniel DeMarco, MD

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists: Gregory DeMeo, MD

American College of Physicians: M. Douglas Leahy, MD

American College of Radiology: William D. Donovan, MD, MPH, FACR

American College of Rheumatology: Timothy Laing, MD

American College of Surgeons: Christopher Senkowski, MD, FACS

American Geriatrics Society: Alan Lazaroff, MD

American Osteopathic Association: Amy Aronsky, DO

American Psychiatric Association: Gregory Harris, MD

American Society of Anesthesiologists: Stanley Stead, MD

American Society of Plastic Surgeons: James C. Waldorf, MD

American Urological Association: Norman Smith, MD

College of American Pathologists: Jim Clark, MD

Primary Care Rotating Seat: Kathleen K. Cain, MD

Society of Thoracic Surgeons: Joseph Cleveland, MD

The Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions: Sergio Bartakian, MD


Static Up
Featured Stories