Physician Health

Joy in Medicine™: Recognized organizations


Each year, the Joy in Medicine™ Health System Recognition Program recognizes organizations from across the country for their dedication to building well-being and reducing physician burnout in their organization.

Get started

Now accepting applications for the 2024 AMA Joy in Medicine™ Health System Recognition Program.

There are three levels of recognition in the Joy in Medicine Health System Recognition Program: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Recognition levels are valid for two years before organizations can apply to renew or increase their recognition. Listed below are each organization’s current recognition level and the year the organization’s most recent recognition level was achieved.

This list is up to date as of October 2023 and will be updated after each annual program.

Following are the organizations with current recognition from the Joy in Medicine Health System Recognition Program:


Atrium Health


Northwestern Medicine

Ochsner Health

The Permanente Medical Group

Sanford Health

Southern California Permanente Medical Group

Stanford Medicine


UT Southwestern Medical Center


Allegheny Health Network

Ascension Medical Group

Atrius Health

Baylor Scott & White Health

Baylor Scott & White The Heart Hospitals - Denton, McKinney, Plano


Children's Mercy Kansas City

Children's Primary Care Medical Group

CHRISTUS Health, CHRISTUS Trinity Clinic

Confluence Health

Corewell Health

El Rio Health

Hackensack Meridian Health


Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

LCMC Health

Mayo Clinic

Michigan Medicine, University of Michigan

MultiCare Health System

Orlando Health

RUSH University Medical Center

Sea Mar Community Health Centers

Thundermist Health Center

University of Utah Health


Upstate Medical University 


Banner Health

Boston Medical Center


Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Connecticut Children's

Cook Children’s

Dignity Health Arizona Market


Family Health Centers of San Diego


Harvard Medical Faculty Physicians at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Kootenai Health

Massachusetts General Physicians Organization


MyMichigan Health

The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Palo Alto Foundation Medical Group

Parkland Health

Providence Medical Foundation: St. Joseph Heritage Medical Group, St. Jude Heritage Medical Group

Providence Oregon

The Queen's Health System

Reid Health

Ridgecrest Regional Hospital

Rogers Behavioral Health

The Southeast Permanente Medical Group

Spectrum Healthcare Partners

St. Luke's Health System

Sturdy Health

Sutter Independent Physicians

UNC Health

University of Michigan Health-West

UW Medicine

US Acute Care Solutions

Washington Permanente Medical Group

WellSpan Health

Wellstar Health System

AMA Health System Program


Atlantic Health System

Centura Health

The Christ Hospital Health Network

Cleveland Clinic

Cooper University Health Care

Edward-Elmhurst Health

Gillette Children's

Hartford HealthCare

Johns Hopkins Medicine

Medical College of Wisconsin, Froedtert Hospital and Children's Wisconsin

Moffitt Cancer Center

Nemours Children's Health

Northwell Health Physician Partners

Oak Street Health

Pediatric Physicians’ Organization at Children’s (PPOC)

Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health

Samaritan Health Services

Temple University Health System

Tulane University School of Medicine

UMass Memorial Health

UCI Health

University of Mississippi Medical Center

The University of New Mexico School of Medicine

UW Medicine | Valley Medical Center

Joy in Medicine: Jennifer Berliner, MD, quote

Bassett Healthcare Network


BJC Medical Group

Bozeman Health

Cooper University Health Care

Gould Medical Group

Heartland Health Centers

MedStar Health

National Capital Region Military Health System

Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center

South Georgia Medical Center

St. Vincent Medical Group

University of Rochester Medical Center

Virginia Mason Medical Center

Wake Forest Baptist Health/Wake Forest School of Medicine

If you have any questions about the Joy in Medicine Health System Recognition Program, please contact us.