CHICAGO — Following the election of Susan R. Bailey, M.D., an allergist and immunologist from Fort Worth, Texas, as American Medical Association (AMA) president-elect, the nation’s premier physician organization will for the first time in its history have three consecutive female physicians as president. The following photo is provided for your use, and a hi-res version can be downloaded by clicking here. Please credit the American Medical Association.

Photo of the AMA's three consecutive female presidents. Barbara L. McAneny, MD, Patrice A. Harris, MD, MA, and Susan R. Bailey, MD.

The photo features (L-R): Barbara L. McAneny, M.D., Patrice A. Harris, M.D., M.A., and Susan R. Bailey, M.D.

Media Contact:

AMA Media & Editorial

ph: (312) 464-4430

[email protected]

About the American Medical Association

The American Medical Association is the physicians’ powerful ally in patient care. As the only medical association that convenes 190+ state and specialty medical societies and other critical stakeholders, the AMA represents physicians with a unified voice to all key players in health care.  The AMA leverages its strength by removing the obstacles that interfere with patient care, leading the charge to prevent chronic disease and confront public health crises and, driving the future of medicine to tackle the biggest challenges in health care.