CHICAGO — The American Medical Association (AMA) today introduced the 21 members of its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held during the Annual Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates.

Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H, an anesthesiologist from Wisconsin, was sworn in as the 178th president of the AMA. With Dr. Ehrenfeld’s inauguration as AMA president, the office passed from Jack Resneck Jr., M.D., a dermatologist from California. With the conclusion of his term as AMA president, Dr. Resneck assumed the office of AMA immediate past president.

Bruce A. Scott, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Kentucky, was voted president-elect of the AMA. Dr. Scott will become AMA president in June 2024.

Willie Underwood, III, M.D., M.Sc., M.P.H., a urologist from New York, is the new chair of the AMA Board of Trustees, and Michael Suk, M.D., J.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., an orthopaedic surgeon from Pennsylvania, is the new chair-elect of the AMA Board.

The other executive committee members on the AMA Board of Trustees for 2023-2024 are:

  • David H. Aizuss, M.D., an ophthalmologist from California, is secretary.
  • John H. Armstrong, M.D., a trauma surgeon from Florida, is the newly elected vice speaker of the AMA House of Delegates.
  • Lisa Bohman Egbert, M.D., an obstetrician-gynecologist from Ohio, is the newly elected speaker of the AMA House of Delegates.
  • Sandra Adamson Fryhofer, M.D., an internist from Georgia, is immediate past chair.

The new member of the Board of Trustees is:

  • Aliya Siddiqui, M.S., a medical student from Illinois.

Returning members of the Board of Trustees are:

  • Toluwalasé (Lasé) Ajayi, M.D., a pediatrician, pediatric and adult palliative medicine specialist, and clinical researcher from California.
  • Madelyn E. Butler, M.D., an obstetrician-gynecologist from Florida.
  • Alexander Ding, M.D., M.S., M.B.A, a radiologist from Kentucky.
  • Willarda V. Edwards, M.D., M.B.A., an internist from Maryland.
  • Scott Ferguson, M.D., a diagnostic radiologist from Arkansas.
  • Marilyn Heine, M.D., an emergency medicine and hematology oncology physician from Pennsylvania.
  • Pratistha Koirala, M.D., Ph.D., an obstetrician-gynecologist resident in Connecticut.
  • Ilse R. Levin, D.O., M.P.H. & T.M., an internist and epidemiologist from Maryland.
  • Thomas J. Madejski, M.D., a geriatrician and palliative care specialist from New York.
  • Bobby Mukkamala, M.D., an otolaryngologist from Michigan.
  • Harris Pastides, Ph.D., M.P.H., president emeritus and interim president of the University of South Carolina and the public member of the AMA Board from South Carolina.

Members of the AMA Board of Trustees are elected by physicians and medical students representing more than 190 state and specialty medical societies who gathered for the Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates, the AMA’s policymaking body. The mission of the AMA is the promotion of the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

Media Contact:

Robert J. Mills

ph: (312) 464-5970

[email protected]

About the American Medical Association

The American Medical Association is the physicians’ powerful ally in patient care. As the only medical association that convenes 190+ state and specialty medical societies and other critical stakeholders, the AMA represents physicians with a unified voice to all key players in health care.  The AMA leverages its strength by removing the obstacles that interfere with patient care, leading the charge to prevent chronic disease and confront public health crises and, driving the future of medicine to tackle the biggest challenges in health care.