Awarded every two years, the AMPAC Award for Political Participation recognizes an AMA or AMA Alliance member for their outstanding work through volunteer activities in a political campaign or significant health care related election issue such as a ballot initiative or referendum. The winner of this year’s AMPAC Award for Political Participation is Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber, MD, FACP, FAMWA. Dr. Rohr-Kirchgraber was nominated by her peers at the Indiana State Medical Association (IMSA) and the Indiana Medical Association PAC (IMPAC) for having demonstrated standout contributions through her efforts in political campaigns, fundraising, state and federal PAC education and garnering support for health care-related issues during the 2020 election cycle.

A committed activist on behalf of physicians across Indiana, Dr. Rohr-Kirchgraber played an important role in raising awareness of the impact on women’s health issues and health policy on the state and national level—including the high infant and maternal mortality rates in Indiana. Dr. Rohr-Kirchgraber worked with the POWER Caucus of Indiana, a bipartisan group of women legislators, and created a program to help them better understand the health needs of women in the state. Together they advocated by writing letters to the editor of local newspapers, writing advocacy articles for the Women in Medicine blog of Indiana University School of Medicine (IUSM), going to the state house and working with other health care organizations around the state.

Static Up
Featured Stories