Through dynamic and challenging times, physicians in all sectors of health care are leading their organizations and the health care delivery system. To honor these physicians, the trade publication Modern Healthcare released its 2018 list of the “50 Most Influential Physician Executives and Leaders.” On the list, 21 share the common trait of AMA membership.

Rounding out the top five is AMA member Nick Turkal, MD, co-president and co-CEO of Advocate Aurora Healthcare in Milwaukee. Closing out the top 10 were John Noseworthy, MD, president and CEO of the Mayo Clinic set to retire at the end of this year, at No. 8; Troyen Brennan, MD, chief health officer at CVS Health, at No. 9; and Bechara Choucair, MD, senior vice president and chief community health officer of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Hospitals, at No. 10.

Also making the list is the AMA’s Executive Vice President and CEO James L. Madara, MD, at No. 19—up from No. 38 last year. Dr. Madara is recognized for his dedication to data and interoperability with the launch of the AMA’s Integrated Health Model Initiative, which works to develop a framework for the industry to collect, organize and share health data.

The physicians on this list work in private and public sectors, as well as academia and as leaders of foundations. Physicians were selected by readers and senior editors of Modern Healthcare for their executive responsibilities, personal achievements, innovation and commitment to their communities. 

Related Coverage

Time to flip construct and put patients, doctors first: AMA CEO

Some of the other AMA members on the list of top physician leaders include:

  • No. 11: Donald Rucker, MD, national coordinator for health IT at the Department of Health and Human Services in Washington.
  • No. 14: Jonathan Perlin, MD, president of clinical services and chief medical officer at Hospital Corporation of America Healthcare in Nashville.
  • No. 15: Richard Isaacs, MD, executive director and CEO of the Permanente Medical Group in Oakland, California.
  • No. 16: Tomislav Mihaljevic, MD, president and CEO of the Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland.
  • No. 20: Harold Paz, MD, executive vice president and chief medical officer of Aetna in Hartford, Connecticut.
  • No. 25: Tejal Gandhi, MD, chief clinical and safety officer at the Institute for Healthcare Improvement in Boston.
  • No. 27: Lynn Massingale, MD, co-founder and chairman of TeamHealth in Knoxville, Tennessee.
  • No. 29: Francis Collins, MD, director of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland.
  • No. 31: Sachin Jain, MD, president and CEO of CareMore Health in Cerritos, California.
  • No. 36: Steven Corwin, MD, president and CEO of NewYork-Presbyterian in New York.
  • No. 40: William Conway, MD, CEO of Henry Ford Medical Group in Detroit.
  • No. 42: Gary Kaplan, MD, chairman and CEO of Virginia Mason Health System in Seattle.
  • No. 44: Robert Wachter, MD, chairman of the Department of Medicine at the University of California San Francisco Medical Center.
  • No. 45: Carolyn Clancy, MD, executive in charge at the Veterans Health Administration in Washington.
  • No. 46: Vice Admiral Raquel Bono, MD, director of the Defense Health Agency in West Falls Church, Virginia.
  • No. 48: Mark Chassin, MD, president and CEO of the Joint Commission in Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois.

Visit to learn more about other AMA members who are relentlessly moving medicine through advocacy, education, patient care and practice innovation, and join or renew today.

Featured Stories