Back to top

Women Physicians Section (WPS) Governing Council

Meet the individuals responsible for leading the Women Physicians Section.
Back to top

The role of the Women Physicians Section (WPS) Governing Council is to increase the number and influence of women physicians in leadership roles, as well as advocate for and advance the understanding of women’s health issues. 

Lynda Kabbash, MD, FRCP(C), FAAAAI

Dr. Kabbash is a clinical instructor in medicine at Harvard Medical School and an allergist at New England Baptist Hospital and Atrius Health in Boston. She is currently serving as president of the Norfolk District Medical Society in Massachusetts and as an alternate delegate of the Massachusetts AMA Delegation.

Chair, Member-at-large
Allergy, Internal Medicine
Neelum T. Aggarwal, MD

Dr. Aggarwal is an associate professor in the Department of Neurological Sciences, Rush Alzheimer's Disease Center, and the director of research at the Rush Heart Center for Women at Rush University Medical Center. She previously served as a steering committee member of the AMA Commission to End Health Disparities.

Vice Chair, AMWA Representative
CDR Josephine C. Nguyen, MD, FAAD

CDR Josephine Nguyen is a board-certified dermatologist and has proudly served in the United States Navy for 16 years. She is an associate professor of dermatology at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, America's Medical School, in Bethesda, Maryland. She recently finished 2 terms as chair of the WPS.

Delegate, Young Physician Representative
Ami Shah, MD

Dr. Shah is a board-certified radiologist and the director of mammography and women's imaging at the Physician Affiliated Group of New York.

Alternate Delegate
Diagnostic Radiology
Alice Tolbert Coombs, MD, FCCP

Dr. Coombs is a critical care specialist at South Shore Hospital and an anesthesiologist with South Shore Anesthesia Associates. Dr. Coombs is the current president of the New England Medical Association, the regional society of the National Medical Association.

Critical Care Medicine
Poornima Oruganti, MPH

Ms. Oruganti is a 4th-year medical student at Northeast Ohio Medical University. Poornima received her Master of Public Health from Columbia University in Health Policy and Management. Prior to serving in the WPS, she was the officer-at-large on the AMA-Medical Student Section Governing Council.

Medical Student Section Representative
Christina Talerico, MD

Dr. Talerico is a child and adolescent psychiatry fellow at the University of South Alabama in Mobile, Alabama. She attended the University of South Alabama College of Medicine and has served on the AMA WPS Governing Council since 2014.

Resident and Fellow Section Representative
Kusum Punjabi, MD, MBA, FACEP

Dr. Punjabi is a board-certified assistant professor in emergency medicine at Rutgers University, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School in New Jersey. She has been an active member of the AMA for more than 10 years serving on the Governing Councils for the Resident and Fellow Section, the Women Physicians Congress, the Young Physicians Section and now the Women Physicians Section.

Young Physicians Section Representative
Emergency Medicine