

April 16, 2024

Young Physicians Section (YPS) American Medical Association

Dear AMA-YPS Governing Council and Members,

The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) enthusiastically endorses Christopher Libby, MD, MPH, FACEP's candidacy for the position of Alternate Delegate on the AMA YPS Governing Council.

Dr. Libby's ability to foster meaningful relationships across specialties, states, and sections is demonstrated by his leadership within both the AMA and ACEP. Serving in the AMA House of Delegates since 2014, Dr. Libby became Chair of the AMA-MSS in 2015, serving until 2017 when he joined the AMA-RFS serving on the Governing Council of the AMA-RFS through 2021, and most recently served on the AMA Council on Constitution and Bylaws.

Furthermore, Dr. Libby's involvement in ACEP, serving on the Health IT Committee and the Emergency Medicine Informatics Section, demonstrates his forward-thinking approach to health care and his keen understanding of the evolving landscape of medicine.

Currently serving on the board of the Los Angeles County Medical Association, Dr. Libby has proven himself to be a tireless advocate for physicians at the local level, further solidifying his reputation as a leader with a strong sense of community and service.

What truly sets Dr. Libby apart is his vision for enhancing mentorship opportunities for young physicians within the House of Delegates (HOD). By leveraging his extensive network and relationships, Dr. Libby aims to facilitate meaningful connections between the YPS and seasoned mentors across various specialties, fostering professional growth and development for the next generation of leaders in medicine.

The Section Council on Emergency Medicine has the utmost confidence in Dr. Libby's ability to serve with distinction and integrity as Alternate Delegate on the YPS Governing Council. His proven track record of leadership, coupled with his passion for collaboration and mentorship, make him the ideal candidate for this position.

Sincerely,

Aisha T. Terry, MD, MPH, FACEP ACEP President

WASHINGTON, DC OFFICE

901 New York Ave, NW Suite 515E Washington DC 20001-4432

202-728-0610 800-320-0610 www.acep.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Aisha T. Terry, MD, MPH, FACEP President Alison J. Haddock, MD, FACEP President-Elect Jeffrey M. Goodloe, MD, FACEP Chair of the Board Ryan A. Stanton, MD, FACEP Vice President - Communications James L. Shoemaker, Jr., MD, FACEP Vice President – Membershin Kristin B. McCabe-Kline, MD, FACEP Secretary-Treasurer Christopher S. Kang, MD, FACEP Immediate Past President L. Anthony Cirillo, MD, FACEP John T. Finnell, MD, MSc. FACEP Gabor D. Kelen, MD, FACEP Rami R. Khoury, MD, FACEP Heidi C. Knowles, MD. FACFP Chadd K. Kraus, DO, DrPH, CPE, FACEP Abhi Mehrotra, MD, MBA, FACEP Henry Z. Pitzele, MD, FACEP

COUNCIL OFFICERS

Melissa W. Costello, MD, FACEP Speaker Michael J. McCrea, MD, FACEP Vice Speaker

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Susan E. Sedory, MA, CAE