Back to top

Senior Physicians Section (SPS) Governing Council

Meet the physicians responsible for leading the Senior Physicians Section.
Back to top

The AMA Senior Physicians Section (SPS) Governing Council is elected by the members of the section and is responsible for directing the programs and activities of the group. 

Barbara S. Schneidman, MD, MPH

Dr. Barbara Schneidman is a clinical professor of psychiatry at the University of Washington School of Medicine. Previously she was AMA vice president for Medical Education and interim CEO and president of the Federation of State Medical Boards.

Paul H. Wick, MD

Dr. Paul Wick is medical director of the Senior Behavioral Health Intensive Outpatient Program at the University of Texas Health Northeast in Tyler, Texas. Previously, he was on the medical staff of Trinity Clinic, also in Tyler, Texas.

Barbara A. Hummel, MD

Dr. Barbara A. Hummel is a practicing Milwaukee-area family physician and president of the Wisconsin Medical Society and secretary of the Private Practice Physician Congress at the AMA. Previously she was past chair of the Senior Physician Section Governing Council.

Immediate Past Chair
Family Medicine
Claire V. Wolfe, MD

Dr. Claire Wolfe is board certified in physical medicine and rehabilitation and practices part time at OrthopedicOne in Columbus, Ohio. She also serves as an adjunct assistant professor at the Ohio State University College of Medicine.

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
John A. Knote, MD

Dr. John Knote is a retired diagnostic radiologist from Lafayette, Indiana. Previously, he worked at the Indiana University Medical Center and served as the vice speaker and speaker of the AMA House of Delegates.

Alternate Delegate
Diagnostic Radiology
Richard Allen, MD

Dr. Richard Allen recently retired as assistant dean for graduate medical education at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU). During his career as an ob/gyn, he served as president of both the Oregon Medical Association and the Colorado Medical Society. He also served as chair of the AMA Council on Medical Education.

Officer At-large
Obstetrics & Gynecology