The Young Physicians Section (YPS) met virtually on Friday, June 11.

Young physicians from across the country virtually addressed priority issues and worked on shaping American Medical Association policy during the June 2021 Young Physicians Section (YPS) Assembly Meeting.

The YPS hosted a #MeToo in Medicine Roundtable Discussion co-sponsored by the LGBTQ Advisory Committee, the Minority Affairs Section and the Women Physicians Section. YPS Chair-elect Laura Faye Gephart, MD, MBA moderated a panel discussion with:

  • Fatima Cody Stanford, MD, MPH, MPA, MBA, physician scientist at Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School
  • Tina Tchen, JD, president and CEO of TIME’S UP Now and the TIME’S UP Foundation.

During this informative session, the panelists examined the #MeToo movement in medicine and identified the realities of sexual impropriety in health care and how to create change to create a safer, more equitable training environment and workplace.

The YPS remembered Paul O’Leary, MD a longtime YPS member who passed away suddenly last month. Dr. O’Leary was a long-time supporter of the Underrepresented in Medicine Scholarship Program with the AMA Foundation. The Paul O’Leary, MD Memorial Fund was established to honor his legacy and continue to support a cause that he was passionate about. Visit the O'Leary Memorial page to donate. All donations made in support of the fund before or during the June 2021 meeting are being matched dollar-for-dollar, up to $50,000.

Review the digest of actions (PDF) from the June 2021 Meeting to learn about the items of business that the YPS testified on during the Special Meeting of the House of Delegates as well as other YPS policy highlights.

The YPS submitted five resolutions to the House of Delegates and three were accepted as business. They include:

  • Resolution 23: Pandemic Ethics and the Duty of Care
  • Resolution 24: AMA Bylaws Language on AMA Young Physicians Section Governing Council Eligibility
  • Resolution 711: Opposition to elimination of “incident-to” billing for non-physician practitioners

The YPS elected Matthew E. Lecuyer, MD, MPH, as chair-elect and re-elected L. Carlos Zapata, MD, as speaker and Alisha D. Reiss, MD, as alternate delegate.

Active State Undo
Featured Stories