Back to top

Excellence in Medicine Awards

Back to top

Every year, the AMA Foundation honors a select group of physicians, residents and medical students who exemplify the medical profession's highest values: commitment to service, community involvement, altruism, leadership and dedication to patient care.

Awards Available

There are 5 types of Excellence in Medicine Awards given annually. Each award provides a $2,500 grant to the institution or organization where the recipient works:

  1. Pride in the Profession Award: Honoring physicians whose lives encompass the true spirit of being a medical professional—caring for people. 
  2. Dr. Nathan Davis International Award in Medicine: Recognizing physicians whose influence reach the international patient population and change the future of their medical care.
  3. Jack B. McConnell, MD Award for Excellence in Volunteerism: Recognizing the work of senior physicians who provide treatment to U.S. patients who lack access to health care.
  4. Dr. Debasish Mridha Spirit of Medicine Award: Awarding the work of a U.S. physician who has demonstrated altruism, compassion, integrity, leadership and personal sacrifice while providing quality health care to a distressed or marginalized population in an impoverished community.
  5. Leadership Awards: Presented this year to 10 medical students, 2 residents, 1 fellow, and 2 early-career physicians in recognition of strong, nonclinical leadership skills in advocacy, community service, public health, and/or education.

Application deadline: The Excellence in Medicine application is available in the winter. The 2016 awards cycle has passed. For questions about the Excellence in Medicine program, please contact [email protected].

This program is supported in part by Pfizer, Inc.

Donate Now to Support the Excellence in Medicine Awards.

Email this page