• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Leadership Profiles

PCPI Chair and Vice Chair

Frank Opelka, MD, FACS Richard Hellman, MD, FACP, FACE
Dr. Opelka Dr. Hellman

The PCPI has named Frank Opelka, MD, as the Chair and Richard Hellman, MD, as the Vice Chair. Drs. Opelka and Hellman will lead the expansion of the PCPI's current role in performance measurement by improving access to data and quality improvement support to ultimately improve the quality of care for our nation's patients. Read more.

Interim Board of Directors

The interim Board of Directors supports the work of the PCPI® and assists in the fulfillment of its mission and goals. The committee advises the PCPI Chair, Vice Chair and the American Medical Association (AMA) regarding PCPI membership, meeting content, future topics of and prioritization for measure(s) development and maintenance, recommendations on testing, implementation and use of PCPI measures, and budgetary needs and funding.

The interim Board of Directors oversees PCPI subcommittees, advisory committees and work groups. Board members also represent the PCPI at health care quality improvement and patient safety venues. Interim Board of Directors members have demonstrated experience in evidence-based clinical practice guideline and/or performance measures development, involvement in quality improvement initiatives and/or demonstrated leadership ability.

2015 Interim Board of Directors Members

Frank G. Opelka, MD, Chair

Richard Hellman, MD, Vice Chair

Quality Improvement Advisory Committee Chair
Keith Mandel, MD

Measure Advisory Committee Chair
Joseph Drozda, MD

American Academy of Pediatrics
Ramesh C. Sachdeva, MD, PhD, DBA, JD

American Board of Medical Specialties
Tom Granatir (Liaison)

American College of Cardiology
Robert O. Bonow, MC, MACC

American College of Chest Physicians
Mark L. Metersky, MD

American Optometric Association
Timothy Petito, OD, FAAO, DNAP

American College of Emergency Physicians
Bruce S. Auerbach, MD

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
Barbara S. Levy, MD, PS

American College of Physicians
William E. Golden, MD, MACP

American College of Surgeons

American Geriatrics Society
Adrienne Mims, MD

American Academy of Family Physicians
Amy Mullins, MD

American Psychiatric Association
John S. McIntyre, MD

American Medical Association
Georgia Tuttle, MD
Carl Sirio, MD

Council of Medical Specialty Societies
William Rich, MD

The Society of Thoracic Surgeons
David M. Shahian, MD

Wisconsin State Medical Society
Jay A. Gold, MD, JD

R. Adams Dudley, MD, MBA
University of California - San Francisco

Martha Radford, MD
New York University - Langone Medical Center

Public Member
Joachim Roski, PhD, MPH