• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

The Joint Commission

The Joint Commission (formerly "The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations")

  • was established in 1951.
  • is one of three accrediting organizations that have been granted deeming authority by the Centers of Medicare and Medicaid Services. 
  • was created collaboratively by the American College of Surgeons (ACS), American Medical Association (AMA), American Hospital Association (AHA), and the American College of Physicians (ACP) to continue the program initiated by ACS to provide high quality patient care through a voluntary accreditation process that evaluates a hospital against minimum standards of quality.
  • sets standards for, evaluates, and accredits nearly 19,000 health care organizations in the United States.