• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Standing Committees

Committee on Long Range Planning

This committee works on issues regarding the structure and future of the AMA Resident and Fellow Section. Past achievements include updating the Internal Operating Procedures (IOP) of our Section and the report on Limitations on Candidacy for the Governing Council.

McKinley Glover IV, MD, MHS - Governing Council Liaison
mckinley.glover@mgh.harvard.edu

Simon (Semyon) Faynboym, MD - Chair
semyfayn@iupui.edu

Jessica Deslauriers, MD - Vice Chair
Jdeslauriers17@gmail.com

Cecilia Benz - benz@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Shannon Brockman - shannonebrockman@gmail.com
Jason Hall - jason.d.hall.md@gmail.com
Steve Lee - steveleeyc@gmail.com
Carl Streed - cjstreed@gmail.com

Committee on Medical Education

This committee works on medical education issues that relate to resident and fellow physicians, and assists the Governing Council in developing policy positions, writing reports, and educating resident and fellow members of the AMA about critical issues related to Graduate Medical Education.

Shady Henien, MD - Governing Council Liaison
dr.shadyhenien@gmail.com

Adrian Jacques H. Ambrose - Chair
Adrian.Jacques.h.ambrose@dartmouth.edu

Alexandra Norcott - Vice Chair  
Alexandra.Norcott@yale.edu

Mani Akhtari - makhtari@gmail.com
Breanne Jacobs - bbaile7@emory.edu
Indranill Basu Ray - ibasuray@yahoo.com
Bradley Burmeister - bradleyburmeister@gmail.com
Ijeoma Chukwu - ichukwu@uci.edu
Sarah Gorgis - sarahgorgis@gmail.com
Kevin Liu - kliu@lsuhsc.edu
Jacob Moore - jacobrmoore@gmail.com
Daniel O'Brien - dcobrien25@gmail.com
J Winfield Tan - winfield.tan@gmail.com
Christopher Worsham - worsham87@gmail.com
Baraa Zuhaili - bzuhaili@gmail.com

Committee on Legislation and Advocacy

This committee will assist in enhancing grassroots legislative efforts and educating the Resident and Fellow Section on current political issues impacting medicine. A large focus of this group will be to increase participation and involvement in the AMA National Advocacy Conference in February or March. In addition, this committee will work with the Resident Representative to the AMA Political Action Committee (AMPAC) to engage members in AMPAC activities.

Grayson Armstrong - Governing Council Liaison
grayson.armstrong@mail.harvard.edu

Joshua Lesko - Chair
joshua.lesko@gmail.com

Sarah Weaver, MD - Vice Chair
Sarahweaver2013@gmail.com

Erik Berg - Erik.berg@post.harvard.edu
Dana Block-Abraham - Dana.block.abraham@gmail.com
Devon Fagel - devonfagel@gmail.com
Kelly Gassie - Keleliz32@gmail.com
Sachin "Sunny" Jha - sunnyjha@gmail.com
Michael Johnson - michaeltjohnson@gmail.com
Benjamin Karfunkle - bkarfunk@gmail.com
Jeremy Moore - jcm555@gmail.com
Carolyn Payne - cmpayne112@gmail.com
Claude Pirtle - cpirtl@gmail.com
Swathi Reddy - swathi.reddy@yale.edu
Alisha Reiss - alisha.reiss@gmail.com
Dacia Russell - dacia.russell@gmail.com
Christopher Wee, MD - chrisewee@gmail.com
Hans Zuckerman - hanszuckerman@gmail.com

Committee on Membership

This committee works primarily on membership, mentoring and marketing activities. The group will share ideas and form strategies to increase retention and recruitment within the AMA Resident and Fellow Section. In addition, this group will work with the AMA Resident Segment team to help identify communication and outreach vehicles to increase resident and fellow participation in the AMA.

Matthew Lecuyer, MD - Governing Council Liaison
mlecuyer@luriechildrens.org

Vanessa Stan, MD - Chair  
vanessa.stan@gmail.com

Tzvi Furer, MD - Vice Chair
tzvi.furer@gmail.com

Lila Aboueid, MD - Lila.aboueid@gmail.com
Kanchi Batra, MD - kanchi.batra@gmail.com
Laurel Bessey, MD - lbessey@uwhealth.org
Matthew Magyar, MD - mmagyar@uic.edu
Anupriya Razdan, MD - anupriyarazdan@hotmail.com
Jennifer Sprague, MD - jsprague@psych.uic.edu
Jordan Warchol, MD - jwarchol@unmc.edu
William Yoon, MD - william.yoon@stjohn.org

Committee on Scientific Research

This committee assists with the planning and execution of the annual Research Symposium held at the Interim Meeting in November. This includes reviewing abstract submissions, making decisions of acceptance, organizing the judging of poster presentations and assigning awards.

Ricardo Correa, MD - Governing Council Liaison
riccorrea20@hotmail.com

Nicole Lee, MD - Chair  
nicole.lee.m@gmail.com

Dagmar F. Hernandez - Vice Chair
dagmarfredy@gmail.com

Ayesha Abid, MD - aabid@hmc.psu.edu
Mark Amsbaugh, MD - mark.amsbaugh@louisville.edu
Awais Ashfaq, MD - ashfaq.awais@mayo.edu
Mohamed Ayan, MD - mohamedayan@creighton.edu
Stephen Chun, MD - sgschun@gmail.com
Ahizechukwu Eke, MD - ahizeeke2nd@yahoo.ca
Laura Halpin, MD - laura.e.halpin@gmail.com
Rachna Kataria, MD - rachkataria@gmail.com
Kaustubh Limaye, MD - kslimaye@uams.edu
Sandhya Mittal, MD - mittalsa08@gmail.com
Kunj Patel, MD - kunj.patel@gmail.com
Olga Reynbakh, MD - olgareynbakh@gmail.com

Committee on Public Health

This committee deals with issues affecting public health both domestically and internationally. Committee members will assist the Governing Council in developing policy positions, writing reports, and educating resident and fellow members of the AMA about critical public health issues. The committee will also help residents develop grassroots programs to tackle public health issues in their local communities.

Chris Sudduth, MD - Governing Council Liaison
christopher.sudduth@gmail.com

Michael Lubrano, MD, MPH - Chair
Lubrano.michael@gmail.com

Erin Schwab, MD, MPH - Vice Chair
erin@schwabmd.com

Zachary Connor, MD - zacbookpro@gmail.com
Michael Hansen, MD - michael.a.hansen@uth.tmc.edu
Calvin Kagan, MD - Cmk02006@gmail.com
Furqan Nusair,MD - furqannusair@hotmail.com
Oluwatosin Omole, MD - ooomole@gmail.com
Emilie Prot, MD - eprot@alumni.nd.edu
Furqan Nusair,MD - furqannusair@hotmail.com
Najibah Rehman, MD - nkrehman83@gmail.com
Thamer Sartawi, MD - thamer.sartawi@gmail.com
Rachel Solnick, MD - rachel.solnick@yale.edu
Wallace Thomas, MD - drwallacethomas@gmail.com
Mariam Totonchy, MD - mariam.totonchy@yale.edu
Laia Jimena Vazquez Guillamet, MD - laiavgll@gmail.com

Committee on Business and Economics

This committee addresses financial and economic issues affecting physicians during their residency and fellowship, such as disability insurance, debt management, budgeting, negotiating employment contracts, and choosing a practice. Committee members will work to represent the resident and fellow voice in considerations of the future of physician payment models, the practical implications of the Affordable Care Act on residents, fellows, and newly graduated trainees and macroeconomic trends that may face healthcare in the future.

Ryan Ribeira, MD - Governing Council Liaison
RJRibeira@gmail.com

Sandeep Krishnan, MD - Chair
xsandeepx@gmail.com

Linda Wu, MD - Vice Chair
wu.linda.x@gmail.com

Joseph Cavallo, MD - josephcavallo@gmail.com
Christopher Chen, MD - chrischen10@gmail.com
Joseph Chiweshe, MD - joseph.chiweshe@uky.edu
Andrew  Colucci, MD - AColucci@bidmc.harvard.edu
Sean Moran, MD - Smmoran1@gmail.com
Michael Politis, MD - mjp189@gmail.com
Scott Resnick, MD - scott.resnick@UHhospitals.org
Dillenia Rosica, MD - dillenia.rosica@gmail.com
Shivam Shah, MD - shah.shivam@gmail.com

Committee on Quality and Patient Safety

This committee works to address issues of medical quality, quality improvement and patient safety in addition to developing a better understanding of the government agencies and regulatory bodies that govern quality measures and their implementation and utilization, particularly as it affects physicians. Examples include highlighting issues of importance to practicing physicians and physicians-in-training regarding accreditation, quality measures, provider evaluation, etc. This includes providing the RFS with written reports, collaborating with the RFS Governing Council to develop relationships with relevant quality organizations, and encouraging awareness and education regarding medical quality, quality improvement and patient safety issues.