• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Committee on Membership and Communication

About the Committee

The AMA-MSS Committee on Membership and Communication (CMC) is responsible for the Section's communication and member recruitment efforts.

Membership Responsibilities
Coordinating recruitment efforts between national, region, state and school levels of involvement while striving to find ways to further the value of AMA membership to medical students, with a particular focus on individual school section development. CMC provides ideas for recruitment programming and strategies; assists in development and implementation strategies for increased recruitment and retention into residency; works with the AMA-MSS Outreach Program to develop recruitment projects and presentations (both portable and for national meetings).

Communication Responsibilities
Integrating and directing two-way communications among the school, state, region, and national levels of the MSS. CMC works with leaders at all levels of the MSS and with the AMA-MSS Staff to develop and refine school section resources that will empower grassroots school activities. Each CMC member will serve as a liaison to a subsection of MSS leadership to synergize efforts, advertise grassroots resources, and promote school involvement in AMA and MSS initiatives. CMC will disseminate comprehensive, yet concise summaries of MSS and AMA activities to empower students with actionable information so they can easily stay informed, involved, and an integral part of AMA's solutions at the local, state, regional, national levels. Creativity, communication skills and familiarity with various electronic information modalities are highly valuable for CMC activities.

Committee Members

Matt McNelley, Chair
University of Arkansas School of Medicine

Thomas "TJ" FitzGibbon, Co-Vice Chair
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

Kanchi Batra, Co-Vice Chair
USF Health Morsani COM - Allentown

Ryan Berger
FSU College of Medicine

Shannon Brockman
University of Florida College of Medicine

Bryn DeKosky
Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences

Kristina Dukes
University of South Carolina School of Medicine

Timothy Fernandez
Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Basil Kahwash
University of Toledo College of Medicine

Samir Kashyap
Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences

Sunjay Sethi
Boston University School of Medicine

Parth Shah
University of ArkansasCollege of Medicine

David Weithorn
Florida International University, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

Hans Zuckerman
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine


Subscribe to the AMA-MSS Announcements listserv to receive our monthly newsletter, AMA-MSS Inform, and other important annoucements.