• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Nathan Davis Awards for Outstanding Government Service

A Program for the Recognition of Significant Achievements Inaugurated in 1989 by the American Medical Association

The American Medical Association (AMA) annually solicits nominations for the Dr. Nathan Davis Awards for Outstanding Government Service.  These awards are recognized nationally as one of the most prestigious honors extended to elected officials and career government employees for outstanding endeavors that advance public health. Through these Awards, named for the founder of the AMA, we strive to encourage and stimulate public recognition for the significant accomplishments attained by men and women who are giving of themselves to advance the well-being of all.

The criteria utilized by the independent panel of judges as they make their recommendations are listed below and available in the Awards brochure that the AMA presents these awards in 7 categories of public service including local, state, and federal government. Each year, the caliber of nominees is a testament to the incredible initiatives being advanced by governmental and elected officials throughout our Nation. The 2017 Awards will be presented at a recognition dinner at the Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel, Washington, DC on Tuesday, February 28, 2017, in conjunction with the National Advocacy Conference.

We hope you or your organization will submit one or more nominations.

Nominaton form

Please note the deadline for submission is 5:00 p.m. EST on Friday, Nov. 11, 2016. While you may submit your nominations by mail or facsimile, a registered delivery is preferred for your protection. Supplemental supporting material should be limited to no more than ten pages.

Nominations should be submitted to:

Dr. Nathan Davis Awards
Office of the Secretariat
c/o Suite 220
1401 Eye St. N.W.
Washington, DC 20005

Telephone inquiries should be directed to:
Awards Secretariat at (202) 783-9156

Past recipients of the Nathan Davis Award

Categories and Criteria for Award
Categories and Criteria for the Nathan Davis Awards for Outstanding Government Service.