Back to top

Medical Student Section (MSS) Councilors & Representatives

Back to top

Student Councilors

Medical student members of the AMA are appointed by the Medical Student Section (AMA-MSS) Governing Council and the AMA Board of Trustees to serve on each of the 7 AMA Councils. These student councilors are responsible for providing the student perspective on topics discussed by the councils and for reporting back to the AMA-MSS on council actions and activities.

Current Councilors

AMA Council on Constitution and Bylaws
Joy Lee, [email protected]
Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

AMA Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs (CEJA)
Laurie Schleimer, [email protected]
Harvard Medical School

AMA Council on Legislation (COL)
Christopher Clifford, [email protected]
University of Nevada Reno School of Medicine

AMA Council on Long Range Planning and Development (CLRPD)
Katherine Marsh, [email protected]
University of Arizona College of Medicine - Tucson

AMA Council on Medical Education (CME)
Arjun Gupta, [email protected]
Rutgers-New Jersey Medical School

AMA Council on Medical Service (CMS)
Sarah Mae Smith, [email protected]
University of California – Irvine School of Medicine

AMA Council on Science and Public Health (CSAPH)
Christina Kratschmer, [email protected]
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Student Representatives

Medical student members of the AMA are also appointed to serve as representatives/liaisons to other AMA groups and to organizations that work closely with the AMA. These students represent the AMA-MSS position on various issues and report back to the AMA-MSS on activities that have the potential to affect medical students.

Current Representatives/Liaisons

AMA Advisory Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer issues (LGBTQ)
Collin Shumate, [email protected]
Morehouse School of Medicine

AMA Foundation (AMAF)
Brianna Whithorn, [email protected]
Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine

AMA Minority Affairs Section (MAS)  
Luis Seija, [email protected]
Texas A&M College of Medicine

AMA Women Physicians Section (WPS) 
Trishna Narula, [email protected]
Stanford University School of Medicine

American Medical Political Action Committee (AMPAC)
Ashtin Jeney, [email protected]
George Washington University School of Medicine

Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME)  
Raj Singh, [email protected]
Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine

National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME)  
Brandon Tabman, [email protected]  
Ohio State University College of Medicine

National Resident Matching Program (NRMP)
Jennifer Bai, [email protected]
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Learn more and apply for the representative/liaison positions.

Print this page Email this page