Back to top

Resident & Fellow Section (RFS) Governing Council

Meet the individuals responsible for leading the Resident & Fellow Section.
Back to top

The Resident & Fellow Section (RFS) Governing Council serves to advocate for residents and fellows and to promote the AMA though initiatives relevant to peers across the country.

Hans Arora, MD, PhD

Dr. Arora is a urology resident at Cleveland Clinic. He attended Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, graduating Magna Cum Laude and was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. He served as chair of the AMA Medical Student Section and was a member of the Council on Medical Education.

Matthew Lecuyer, MD

Dr. Lecuyer is a pediatric emergency medicine fellow at Brown University/Hasbro Children’s Hospital in Providence, Rhode Island. He attended the University of Massachusetts Medical School and completed residency in pediatrics at Northwestern McGaw/Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago. He has been involved in organized medicine since his first year of medical school, most recently serving as Member at Large for the AMA-RFS Governing Council 2015-2016 and on the Council on Long Range Planning and Development.

Vanessa Stan, MD, MPH

Dr. Stan is a psychiatry resident at the University of Illinois at Chicago. She attended Wayne State University School of Medicine and Johns Hopkins School of Public Health. She currently serves as a delegate to the AMA House of Delegates and has served as the chair of the AMA-RFS Membership Committee.

Vice Chair
McKinley Glover IV, MD, MHS

Dr. Glover is a diagnostic radiology resident at Massachusetts General Hospital. He attended Duke University School of Medicine and received his MHS from Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health. He is serving his 2nd term as speaker for the AMA-RFS and has served as a delegate to the AMA House of Delegates.

Diagnostic Radiology
Jerry P. Abraham, MD, MPH, CMQ

Dr. Abraham is the chief resident physician at the University of Southern California Family Medicine Residency Program at Dignity Health California Hospital. He graduated from the University of Texas School of Medicine and holds an MPH from the Emory University Rollins School of Public Health and completed a fellowship in injury epidemiology & global health from the Harvard School of Public Health. He currently serves in multiple leadership roles in his state, county and specialty societies.

Vice Speaker
Family Medicine
Michael Lubrano, MD, MPH

Dr. Lubrano is an anesthesia resident at University of California San Francisco. He attended Albert Einstein College of Medicine and received his MPH from Yale University. He served on the AMA’s Medical Student Section Governing Council and is the immediate past chair of the AMA Resident and Fellow Section Public Health Committee.

Benjamin Karfunkle, MD

Dr. Karfunkle is an emergency medicine resident at Baylor College of Medicine. He attended the University of Texas Health Science Center and completed his intern year at Louisiana State University Health Science Center. He has served as a delegate to the AMA House of Delegates with the AMA-MSS, AMA-RFS and Texas delegations.

Alternate Delegate
Emergency Medicine
Scott Resnick, MD

Dr. Resnick is a pediatric resident at Boston Children's Hospital and Boston Medical Center. He attended the University of Illinois College of Medicine and was a member of the AMA-RFS Standing Committee on Business and Economics.