Back to top

Medical Student Section (MSS) Governing Council

View the members responsible for leading the Medical Student Section (AMA-MSS).
Back to top

The governing council is responsible for appointing the remainder of the Medical Student Section leadership, carrying out policies and action items adopted by the assembly and directing the Medical Student Section (MSS) agenda and strategies.


Christopher Libby, MPH

Mr. Libby is a 4th-year medical student at the University of Massachusetts. Prior to medical school he completed his MPH at Boston University. He has served as chair of the MSS Health Information Technology Task Force, chair of the Parliamentary Procedures Committee, region VI secretary, and as a region 7 delegate/alternate delegate.

Lee Ouyang

Mr. Ouyang is a 4th-year medical student at Eastern Virginia Medical School. Prior to this, he was the MSS Committee on Legislation and Advocacy’s vice chair for Internal Affairs and region 6 legislative and advocacy chair.

Vice Chair
Sarah Mae Smith

Ms. Smith is a 4th-year MD/PhD (MSTP) student at the University of California, Irvine, where she studies the effects of radiation and chemotherapy on cognition in Dr. Charles Limoli’s lab. She previously served as the region 1 chair and House of Delegates Coordination Committee chair for the MSS.

William Estes

Mr. Estes is a third-year medical student at Texas A&M College of Medicine. Prior to serving on the MSS Governing Council, he represented region III as a regional alternate delegate. Currently, he also serves as vice chair of the Texas Medical Association MSS and sits on the TMA Board of Councilors.

Alternate Delegate
Jayme Looper

Ms. Looper is a 4th-year medical student at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine. She holds a Master of Science in Bioengineering. Jayme has served as both region 4 chair and delegate, and AMA Foundation student ambassador.

At-large Officer
Hunter Pattison

Mr. Pattison is a 4th-year medical student at the University of  Florida College of Medicine pursuing a career in emergency medicine. Prior to serving as AMA-MSS speaker, he served as MSS chair of the Florida Medical Association and chair of the University of Florida AMA-MSS Section.

Theresa Phan

Ms. Phan is a 4th-year medical student at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine. She is currently serving her second term on the Governing Council as vice speaker. Prior to this, she was I-14 Logistics Convention Committee chair and has served as her school’s MSS delegate.

Vice Speaker
Omar Z. Maniya, MBA

Mr. Maniya holds an MBA from Harvard Business School and a Bachelor of Science in biology from Georgetown University. He previously served on the Council on Long Range Planning and is a member of the AMA Board of Trustees. He is in his final year of medical school at the Georgetown University School of Medicine in Washington, D.C.

Medical Student Trustee