AMA Wire

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

This Week's News

AMA Foundation awards scholarships of $10,000 to minority medical students

AMA Foundation awards scholarships of $10,000 to minority medical students

Eight medical students from historically underrepresented groups will be getting a hand with their medical education costs from the AMA Foundation.

The recipients of the 2013 Minority Scholars Awards were announced this week and will receive $10,000 toward their medical degree expenses. These first- and second-year students were selected based on their scholastic achievement, financial need and commitment to eliminating health care disparities.

"The AMA Foundation is proud to support these exceptional medical students," AMA Foundation President Clarence Chou, MD, said in a news release. "Their outstanding academic achievements, leadership experience and service to their communities speak to their commitment to make a difference in the health of minority populations."

Nearly 30 percent of the U.S. population is African-American, Hispanic, American Indian, Native Hawaiian or Alaskan Native, yet only about 9 percent of all U.S. physicians are from these racial and ethnic groups. Meantime, racial and ethnic disparities in care continue to plague the U.S. health care system, according to a federal report.

The average medical student debt is $162,000, and many graduates shoulder a debt burden that is much higher. Such debts can deter many students from pursuing a medical degree or prevent graduates from practicing in underserved locations or following a career primary care.

The Minority Scholars Awards are given in partnership with the AMA Minority Affairs Section (MAS), with support from Pfizer Inc. The National Business Group on Health partially supports one scholarship in honor of the late Ronald M. Davis, MD, past president of the AMA, which is granted to a minority medical student interested in primary care. Additional support is provided by the AMA-MAS Governing Council and other generous donors.

This year's recipients include the following AMA members:

  • Kathlene Babalola, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
  • Luz Corona Gomez, David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California Los Angeles
  • Anthony Kulukulualani, Tufts University School of Medicine
  • Maria De Jesus Quezada, University of California San Francisco School of Medicine
  • Andrés Felipe Ramírez Zamudio, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Read an AMA Foundation news release to learn more about the awards and view a full list of recipients.