AMA Wire

Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2012

News for Women Physicians

AMA-WPC to mark 15th anniversary during caucus, reception

AMA-WPC to mark 15th anniversary during caucus, reception

The AMA Women Physicians Congress (WPC) will celebrate its 15th anniversary during a Nov. 10 caucus and reception in Honolulu in conjunction with this year's Interim Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates.

Guests will have the opportunity to network with colleagues, honor physician mentors and learn how to get more involved with the AMA-WPC. The AMA-WPC also will host its liaison meeting that day; all AMA-WPC liaisons are invited to attend. View an Interim Meeting schedule for times and locations of these and other events throughout the meeting.

Grant opportunity available for research efforts

The AMA Foundation is accepting applications from medical students, residents and fellows leading basic science, applied or clinical research projects as part of its Seed Grant Research Program.

The program provides junior investigators with financial resources and professional development to encourage young physicians to pursue careers in medical research. Grants of up to $2,500 will be awarded in the following three categories:

  • cardiovascular/pulmonary diseases
  • pancreatic cancer

Applications are due Dec. 5.

Physician re-entry paper earns award

An article examining the regulatory challenges with physician re-entry into practice has been selected by the Journal of Medical Regulation editorial board as winner of the 2013 Ray L. Casterline Award for Excellence in Writing.

The paper, "Physician Re-entry into Clinical Practice: Regulatory Challenges," presents survey data on current physician reentry policies of state medical boards, discusses the findings from the survey within the context of regulatory challenges that impact physician re-entry, and offers recommendations to facilitate the development of comprehensive, coordinated regulatory policies on physician re-entry.

AMA Foundation seeks everyday heroes in medicine

Nominate your colleagues who go beyond the call of duty to improve public health, provide care for people in need and serve as community leaders for this year's Excellence in Medicine Awards. Presented by the AMA Foundation in association with Pfizer Inc., the annual awards acknowledge the everyday heroes who embody the highest values of the medical profession: altruism, public service and dedication to patient care.

Nominations are due Nov. 16. There are four categories:

  • Pride in the Profession Award—for physicians aiding underserved patients in the U.S.
  • Dr. Nathan Davis International Award—for physicians aiding an international population
  • Jack B. McConnell, MD, Award—for senior physicians improving access to care in the U.S.
  • Leadership Awards—for medical students, residents, fellows and early career physicians who demonstrate outstanding nonclinical leadership skills

The Excellence in Medicine Awards will be presented at a banquet on Feb. 11 in Washington, D.C. Award recipients will receive travel expenses to attend the ceremony, and $2,500 grants will be provided to the awarded physicians' organizations.