• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

AMA Salutes Government Officials for Dedication to Health Care with Top Award

For immediate release:
March 2, 2010

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Medical Association (AMA) today announced the nine recipients of the 2010 Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service – the highest award for elected officials and government employees from the nation’s largest physician organization.

“Through the Nathan Davis Awards, the AMA salutes government officials who go above and beyond the call of duty to improve public health,” said Dr. Patchin. “Award winners come from every branch of government service and are a testament to the important role public officials play in creating and implementing health policy that benefits Americans.”

The awards, named for the founding father of the AMA, recognize elected and career officials in federal, state or municipal service whose outstanding contributions have promoted the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health. This year marks the 21st anniversary of the Dr. Nathan Davis Awards. The winners are as follows:

United States Representative

State Governor

Elected State Official

Member of a State Legislature

Member of Executive Branch Serving by Presidential Appointment

Member of Executive Branch in Career Public Service

Career Public Servant at the State Level

Career Public Servant at the Local Level

The awards were presented in conjunction with the AMA National Advocacy Conference at the Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel in Washington, D.C.

# # #

For additional information, please contact:

AMA Media Relations
(312) 464-4430

Follow AMA on and .