• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

AMA News Room

Feb. 24, 2016

AMA Honors Government Service, Dedication to Health Care

For immediate release:
Feb. 24, 2016

WASHINGTON - The American Medical Association (AMA) today announced the eight recipients of the 2016 Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service – the highest award for elected officials and government employees from the nation's largest physician organization.

The Nathan Davis Awards highlight the significant accomplishments attained by men and women in government service who are striving to advance the well-being of all," said AMA Board Chair Stephen R. Permut, M.D.

The award, named after the founding father of the AMA, recognizes elected and career officials in federal, state or municipal service whose outstanding contributions have promoted the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

United States Representative

  • Former House Speaker John Boehner
  • House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi

Member of a State Legislature

  • Pennsylvania State Representative Gene DiGirolamo
  • West Virginia State Senator Ron Stollings, M.D.

Member of Executive Branch in Career Public Service

  • Karen Midthun, M.D., former director of the Food and Drug Administration's Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research

Member of the Uniformed Services

  • Retired Lieutenant General Thomas W. Travis, M.D., former Surgeon General of the United States Air Force

Career Public Servant at the State Level

  • Mary Currier, M.D., State Health Officer, Mississippi State Department of Health

Career Public Servant at the Local Level

  • Dileep G. Bal, M.D., Kauai District Health Officer, State of Hawaii, Department of Health

"For more than a quarter century of the Nathan Davis Awards, the AMA has sought to salute government officials who go above and beyond the call of duty to improve public health," said Dr. Permut. "Award winners have come from every branch of government service and confirm the important role public officials can have creating and implementing health policies that benefit Americans."

The awards were presented last night at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. as part of the AMA's National Advocacy Conference.


Media Contact:
Robert J. Mills
AMA Media & Editorial
(312) 464-5970