• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

AMA News Room

Feb. 12, 2013

AMA Honors Seven with Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service in Health Care

Awards were presented at AMA’s National Advocacy Conference

For immediate release:
Feb. 12, 2013

WASHINGTON – The American Medical Association (AMA) announced the recipients of its top government service honor in health care, the Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service. Seven leaders who have served in different sectors of the government were presented with the award last night at the AMA’s National Advocacy Conference in Washington, D.C.The award is named after the AMA’s founder and is given to elected and career officials in federal, state and municipal service whose outstanding work has promoted the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

“The AMA is privileged to honor a truly remarkable group of individuals who have shown both leadership and courage in tackling critical issues in the continually evolving health care system,” said AMA Board Chair Steven J. Stack, M.D. “They have devoted their careers to being true leaders in reshaping American health care and demonstrating what can be accomplished when we work together to address the most pressing health care issues.”
The following individuals were presented with the Dr. Nathan Davis Award last night:

Donald Berwick, M.D., former Administrator of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Anthony G. Brown, Maryland Lieutenant Governor

Eileen Cody, Washington State Representative

Arthur Evans, Philadelphia Commissioner for the Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectual Disability

Thomas R. Insel, M.D., Director of the National Institute of Mental Health

Charles M. Palmer, Director of Iowa's Department of Human Services

Major General Kimberly Siniscalchi, Assistant Air Force Surgeon General

This year marks the 24th anniversary of the Dr. Nathan Davis Awards.



Liz Magsig
AMA Media Relations
(202) 789-7419

Follow AMA on and .