• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Standing Committees

Committee on Long Range Planning

This committee works on issues regarding the structure and future of the Resident and Fellow Section. Past achievements include the Internal Operating Procedures (IOP) and the report on Limitations on Candidacy for the Governing Council. Future projects will include IOP language for the upcoming Sectional Delegates to the HOD.

Brandi Ring, MD - Governing Council Liaison
Brandi.Ring@gmail.com 

Simon (Semyon) Faynboym, MD - Chair
semyfayn@iupui.edu

Michael Knight, MD - Vice Chair
knightmg@gmail.com

Jessica Deslauriers, MD - Jdeslauriers17@gmail.com
Benjamin Galper, MD - bgalper@gmail.com
Raymond Lorenzoni, MD - raymond.lorenzoni@gmail.com
Wenjia Wang, MD - wjwang@mah.harvard.edu

Committee on Medical Education

This committee works on medical education issues that relate to resident and fellow physicians. The committee will assist the RFS Governing council in developing policy positions, writing reports, and educating resident and fellow members of the AMA about critical medical education issues.

Ryan Ribeira, MD - Governing Council Liaison
RJRibeira@gmail.com

Hans Arora, MD - Chair  
hans.arora@gmail.com

Leonid Vydro, MD - Vice Chair  
Lvydro@gmail.com

Adrian Ambrose, MD - adrian.jacques.h.ambrose@dartmouth.edu
Bradley Burmeister, MD - bradleyburmeister@gmail.com
Kathleen Doo, MD - Kdoo888@gmail.com
Megan Gayesk, MD - megan.gayeski@gmail.com
Alexandra Iacob, MD - Sandra.iacob@gmail.com
Maurice Joyce, MD - mfjoyce3@gmail.com
Casey Melcher, MD - cmelcher@alumni.mcw.edu
Ryan Van Woerkom, MD - Ryan.vdub@gmail.com
Nancy Vu, MD - nancy.mary.vu@gmail.com
Joseph Watson, MD - Jwatson1329@gmail.com

Legislative Advocacy Committee

This committee will assist in enhancing grassroots legislative efforts and educating the AMA-RFS on current political issues impacting medicine. A large focus of this group will be to increase participation and involvement in Lobby Day, which takes place in March during the National Advocacy Conference. In addition, this committee will work on AMPAC activities. We strongly encourage those who wish to serve on the Committee attend Lobby Day. The committee members are:

Steve Lee, MD - Governing Council Liaison
steveleeyc@gmail.com

Sachin “Sunny” Jha, MD - Chair
sunnyjha@gmail.com

Nicole Lee, MD - Vice Chair 
Nicole.lee.m@gmail.com

Amy Ho, MD - Vice Chair  
Amyfaith.ho@gmail.com

Dana Block-Abraham, DO - Dana.block.abraham@gmail.com
Burton Brooks, MD - brooksmd@hotmail.com
Ji Buethe, MD - ji.buethe@uhhospitals.org
Roopa Dhatt, MD - RoopaDhatt@gmail.com
Stephanie Guarino, MD - stephanieguarino@gmail.com
Tracey Henry, MD - henrytracey@hotmail.com
Jeremy Moore, MD - cmoore1@altapointe.org
Shama Patel, MD - Patelss4@gmail.com
Deepa Sheth, MD - Dsheth2@gmail.com
Sarah Weaver, MD - Sarahweaver2013@gmail.com
Christopher Wee, MD - chrisewee@gmail.com

Membership Committee

This committee works primarily on membership and marketing activities. The group will share ideas and form strategies to increase retention and recruitment within the AMA-RFS. In addition, this group will assist in developing communication and outreach vehicles to increase resident and fellow participation in the AMA. The Committee members are:

Shamie Das, MD - Governing Council Liaison
das.shamie@gmail.com

Tzvi Furer, MD - Chair
tzvi.furer@gmail.com

Vanessa Stan, MD - Vice Chair  
vanessa.stan@gmail.com

Lila Aboueid, MD - Lila.aboueid@gmail.com
Ken Koncilja, MD - Kkonci01@gmail.com
Frank Shin, MD - frank.shin@usd.edu
Jennifer Sprague, MD - jsprague@psych.uic.edu

Committee on Scientific Research

This committee is responsible for the scientific research projects and events, including the annual Research Poster Symposium held at the Interim Meeting.  The responsibilities include reviewing abstract submissions, making decisions of acceptance, organizing the judging of poster presentations and assigning awards. 

Michael Best, MD - Governing Council Liaison
bestmw@upmc.edu

Ricardo Correa, MD - Chair  
riccorrea20@hotmail.com

Kah Poh Loh - Vice Chair  
melissalkp@gmail.com

Mark Amsbaugh, MD - mark.amsbaugh@louisville.edu
Awais Ashfaq, MD - ashfaq.awais@mayo.edu
Ammar El Sara, MD - Ammar.sk@gmail.com
Jacob Leivent, MD - jleivent@gmail.com
Kunj Patel, MD - kunj.patel@gmail.com
Eric Wagner, MD - wagner.eric@mayo.edu

Public Health Committee

This committee deals with issues affecting public health both domestically and internationally. The committee will assist the AMA-RFS Governing Council in developing policy positions, writing reports, and educating resident and fellow members of the AMA about critical public health issues. The committee will also help residents develop grassroots programs to tackle public health issues in their local communities. Finally, the committee will work with its counterpart in the Medical Student Section to maintain a database of international rotations for medical students and residents. The committee members are:

Chris Sudduth, MD - Governing Council Liaison
christopher.sudduth@gmail.com

Olutoyin Okanlawon, MD - Chair  
ookanlawon@partners.org
 
Ijeoma Chukwu, MD - Vice Chair 
ichukwu@uci.edu

Duc Chung, MD - dmcchung@gmail.com
Yvonne Covin, MD - ync2104@columbia.edu
Raj LounganI, MD - rajloungani@gmail.com
Michael Lubrano, MD - lubrano.michael@gmail.com
Roxanne McMorris, MD - roxannemcmorris@hotmail.com
William Metcalf-Doetsch, MD - Bill.doetsch@gmail.com
Furqan Nusair,MD - furqannusair@hotmail.com
Kei Ouchi, MD - Keionline97@gmail.com
Emilie  Prot, MD - eprot@alumni.nd.edu
Taimur Safder, MD - tsafder@kumc.edu
Neda Sedora-Roman, MD - nsedora@bidmc.harvard.edu
Carl Streed, MD - cjstreed@gmail.com
Russell Tontz, MD - Russell.tontz@gmail.com

 
Committee on Business and Economics

It will work on issues related to the business and economics of medicine that face residents and fellows on the national/international, practice, and individual levels. The committee will work with the RFS Governing Council in educating the Section on the most pertinent economic issues facing trainees.

Tina Shah, MD - Governing Council Liaison
tinarashmishah@gmail.com

Harb Harb, MD - Chair
harb.n.harb@gmail.com

Shady Henien, MD - Vice Chair 
Dr.ShadyHenien@gmail.com

Faraz Alam, MD - alamf@wvuhealthcare.com
Abdullah Abdussalam, MD - aabdussa@slu.edu
Naiim AlI, MD - naiim.ali.md@gmail.com
Andrew  Colucci, MD - AColucci@bidmc.harvard.edu
Brian Dubin, MD - brian-dubin@fsm.northwestern.edu
Jared Harwood, MD - jared.harwood@osumc.edu
Sean Moran, MD - Smmoran1@gmail.com
Andrew  Moriarity, MD - andymoriarity@gmail.com
Richard Robertson, MD - rcrober1@gmail.com
Lakshmana Swamy, MD - LSwamy@gmail.com