• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Standing Committees

Committee on Long Range Planning

This committee works on issues regarding the structure and future of the Resident and Fellow Section. Past achievements include the Internal Operating Procedures (IOP) and the report on Limitations on Candidacy for the Governing Council. Future projects will include IOP language for the upcoming Sectional Delegates to the HOD.

Benjamin Galper, MD, Chair - bgalper@gmail.com 
Brandi Ring, MD - Brandi.Ring@gmail.com 
Michael Knight, MD - knightmg@gmail.com
Wenjia Wang, MD - wjwang@mah.havard.edu
Simon (Semyon) Faynboym, MD - semyfayn@iupui.edu
Andrew Moriarity, MD - andymoriarity@gmail.com

Committee on Medical Education

This committee works on medical education issues that relate to resident and fellow physicians. The committee will assist the RFS Governing council in developing policy positions, writing reports, and educating resident and fellow members of the AMA about critical medical education issues.

Megan Gayeski, MD, Chair - megan.gayeski@gmail.com
Kathleen Doo, MD - kapur.sahil@gmail.com
Aaron Kithcart, MD, PhD - aaron.kithcart@gmail.com
Maurice Joyce, MD - mfjoyce3@gmail.com
Raghav Govindarajan, MD - raghav316@gmail.com
Emory McTyre, MD - emctyre3@gmail.com
Subhash Chandra, MD - contactdrsubhash@yahoo.com
Ryan Van Woerkor, MD - ryan.vdub@gmail.com

Legislative Advocacy Committee

This committee will assist in enhancing grassroots legislative efforts and educating the AMA-RFS on current political issues impacting medicine. A large focus of this group will be to increase participation and involvement in Lobby Day, which takes place in March during the National Advocacy Conference. In addition, this committee will work on AMPAC activities. We strongly encourage those who wish to serve on the Committee attend Lobby Day. The committee members are:

Dana Block-Abraham, MD, Chair - dblock@uthsc.edu
Hans Arora, MD - hans.arora@gmail.com
Albert Hsu, MD - scooberhsu@gmail.com 
Jeremy Clint Moore, MD - jcm555@gmail.com
Derrick Lowery, MD - loweryd@wusm.wustl.edu
Sachin "Sunny" Jha, MD - sunnyjha@gmail.com

Membership Committee

This committee works primarily on membership and marketing activities. The group will share ideas and form strategies to increase retention and recruitment within the AMA-RFS. In addition, this group will assist in developing communication and outreach vehicles to increase resident and fellow participation in the AMA. The Committee members are:

Ben Durkee, MD, Chair- ben.durkee@gmail.com
Ken Koncilja, MD - Kkonci01@gmail.com
Vanessa Stan, MD - vanessa.stan@gmail.com
Tzvi Furer, MD - tzvi.furer@downstate.edu
Brandi Ring, MD - brandi.ring@gmail.com 

Committee on Scientific Research

This committee is responsible for the scientific research projects and events, including the annual Research Poster Symposium held at the Interim Meeting.  The responsibilities include reviewing abstract submissions, making decisions of acceptance, organizing the judging of poster presentations and assigning awards. 

Ricardo Correa, MD, Chair - riccorrea20@hotmail.com
Nicole Lee, MD - nicole.lee.m@gmail.com
Hemang Panchal, MD - hmangbpanchal@gmail.com
Sharan Sharma, MD - hellosharan@gmail.com
Anupriya Gogne, MD -anupriyagogne@gmail.com
Kah Loh, MD - melissalkp@gmail.com
Billy Chen, MD - billyschen@gmail.com
Tanya Menard, MD - tmenard1@gmail.com
Emory McTyre, MD - emctyre3@gmail.com
Subhash Chandra, MD - contactdrsubhash@yahoo.com
Ryan Van Woerkor, MD - ryan.vdub@gmail.com

Public Health Committee

This committee deals with issues affecting public health both domestically and internationally. The committee will assist the AMA-RFS Governing Council in developing policy positions, writing reports, and educating resident and fellow members of the AMA about critical public health issues. The committee will also help residents develop grassroots programs to tackle public health issues in their local communities. Finally, the committee will work with its counterpart in the Medical Student Section to maintain a database of international rotations for medical students and residents. The committee members are:

Duc Chung, MD, Chair - dmcchung@gmail.com
Carolynn Francavilla Brown, MD - carolynn.francavillabrown@ucdenver.edu
Chris Sudduth, MD - christopher-sudduth@ouhsc.edu
Kei Ouchi, MD - keionline97@gmail.com
Sharon Rikin, MD - sharonrikin@gmail.com 
Carl Streed, MD - cjstreed@gmail.com
Sarah Weaver, MD - sweaver2@tulane.edu
Jazbeen Ahmad, MD - jahmad@medicine.nevada.edu

 
New: Committee on Business and Economics

This committee is new as of 2013. It will work on issues related to the business and economics of medicine that face residents and fellows on the national/international, practice, and individual levels. The committee will work with the RFS Governing Council in educating the Section on the most pertinent economic issues facing trainees.

Tina Shah, MD, Chair - tina.shah@uchicago.edu
Harb Harb, MD - harb.n.harb@gmail.com
Christian Wilson, MD - ccw2118@columbia.edu
Neil Lall, MD - nulall@gmail.com
Marc Mendelsohn, MD - mmendel84@gmail.com
Neil Shah, MD  - neilshahmd@gmail.com
Naiim Ali, MD - xcmiiam@gmail.com
Richard Robertson, MD - rcrober1@gmail.com
Neil Lall, MD - nulall@gmail.com
Jared Harwood, MD - jared.harwood@gmail.com