• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Standing Committees

Committee on Long Range Planning

This committee works on issues regarding the structure and future of the Resident and Fellow Section. Past achievements include the Internal Operating Procedures (IOP) and the report on Limitations on Candidacy for the Governing Council. Future projects will include IOP language for the upcoming Sectional Delegates to the HOD.

McKinley Glover IV, MD, MHS - Governing Council Liaison
mckinley.glover@mgh.harvard.edu

Simon (Semyon) Faynboym, MD - Chair
semyfayn@iupui.edu

Jessica Deslauriers, MD - Vice Chair
Jdeslauriers17@gmail.com

Cecilia Benz - benz@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Shannon Brockman - shannonebrockman@gmail.com
Jason Hall - jason.d.hall.md@gmail.com
Steve Lee - steveleeyc@gmail.com
Carl Streed - cjstreed@gmail.com

Committee on Medical Education

This committee works on medical education issues that relate to resident and fellow physicians. The committee will assist the RFS Governing council in developing policy positions, writing reports, and educating resident and fellow members of the AMA about critical medical education issues. The committee members are:

Shady Henien, MD - Governing Council Liaison
dr.shadyhenien@gmail.com

Adrian Jacques H. Ambrose - Chair
Adrian.Jacques.h.ambrose@dartmouth.edu

Alexandra Norcott - Vice Chair  
Alexandra.Norcott@yale.edu

Mani Akhtari - makhtari@gmail.com
Breanne Jacobs - bbaile7@emory.edu
Indranill Basu Ray - ibasuray@yahoo.com
Bradley Burmeister - bradleyburmeister@gmail.com
Ijeoma Chukwu - ichukwu@uci.edu
Sarah Gorgis - sarahgorgis@gmail.com
Kevin Liu - kliu@lsuhsc.edu
Jacob Moore - jacobrmoore@gmail.com
Daniel O'Brien - dcobrien25@gmail.com
J Winfield Tan - winfield.tan@gmail.com
Christopher Worsham - worsham87@gmail.com
Baraa Zuhaili - bzuhaili@gmail.com

Legislative Advocacy Committee

This committee will assist in enhancing grassroots legislative efforts and educating the AMA-RFS on current political issues impacting medicine. A large focus of this group will be to increase participation and involvement in Lobby Day, and the AMA National Advocacy Conference (NAC). In addition, this committee will work on American Medical Political Action Committee (AMPAC) activities. We strongly encourage those who wish to serve on the Committee attend Lobby Day and National Advocacy Conference (NAC). This year, we have focused on providing updates and materials regarding new legislation such as the CARE Act and Sunshine Act. As we turn to the second half of our term, we are planning to author resolutions and organizing activities for RFS members attending the National Advocacy Conference (NAC). The committee members are: 

Grayson Armstrong - Governing Council Liaison
grayson.armstrong@mail.harvard.edu

Joshua Lesko - Chair
joshua.lesko@gmail.com

Sarah Weaver, MD - Vice Chair
Sarahweaver2013@gmail.com

Erik Berg - Erik.berg@post.harvard.edu
Dana Block-Abraham - Dana.block.abraham@gmail.com
Devon Fagel - devonfagel@gmail.com
Kelly Gassie - Keleliz32@gmail.com
Sachin "Sunny" Jha - sunnyjha@gmail.com
Michael Johnson - michaeltjohnson@gmail.com
Benjamin Karfunkle - bkarfunk@gmail.com
Jeremy Moore - jcm555@gmail.com
Carolyn Payne - cmpayne112@gmail.com
Claude Pirtle - cpirtl@gmail.com
Swathi Reddy - swathi.reddy@yale.edu
Alisha Reiss - alisha.reiss@gmail.com
Dacia Russell - dacia.russell@gmail.com
Christopher Wee, MD - chrisewee@gmail.com
Hans Zuckerman - hanszuckerman@gmail.com

Membership Committee

This committee works primarily on increasing membership recruitment and involvement. The group communicates regularly to share ideas and develop strategies to increase the retention of current AMA-RFS members, recruit new colleagues and increase the participation of all members in AMA-RFS associated activities. Many of these efforts are focused on increasing communication, marketing and team-work with multiple stakeholders, including members of the AMA-RFS Governing Council, AMA staff, other AMA-RFS committees and other sections. The committee members are:

Matthew Lecuyer, MD - Governing Council Liaison
mlecuyer@luriechildrens.org

Vanessa Stan, MD - Chair  
vanessa.stan@gmail.com

Tzvi Furer, MD - Vice Chair
tzvi.furer@gmail.com

Lila Aboueid, MD - Lila.aboueid@gmail.com
Kanchi Batra, MD - kanchi.batra@gmail.com
Laurel Bessey, MD - lbessey@uwhealth.org
Matthew Magyar, MD - mmagyar@uic.edu
Anupriya Razdan, MD - anupriyarazdan@hotmail.com
Jennifer Sprague, MD - jsprague@psych.uic.edu
Jordan Warchol, MD - jwarchol@unmc.edu
William Yoon, MD - william.yoon@stjohn.org

Committee on Scientific Research

This committee is primarily responsible for organizing the annual AMA Research Symposium, held every year during the AMA Interim Meeting. Committee members review abstracts for acceptance, invite judges, and coordinate all scientific and social events during the symposium. The committee also writes resolutions related to scientific matters and promotes scientific writing by organizing workshops. The committee members are:

Ricardo Correa, MD - Governing Council Liaison
riccorrea20@hotmail.com

Nicole Lee, MD - Chair  
nicole.lee.m@gmail.com

Dagmar F. Hernandez - Vice Chair
dagmarfredy@gmail.com

Ayesha Abid, MD - aabid@hmc.psu.edu
Mark Amsbaugh, MD - mark.amsbaugh@louisville.edu
Awais Ashfaq, MD - ashfaq.awais@mayo.edu
Mohamed Ayan, MD - mohamedayan@creighton.edu
Stephen Chun, MD - sgschun@gmail.com
Ahizechukwu Eke, MD - ahizeeke2nd@yahoo.ca
Laura Halpin, MD - laura.e.halpin@gmail.com
Rachna Kataria, MD - rachkataria@gmail.com
Kaustubh Limaye, MD - kslimaye@uams.edu
Sandhya Mittal, MD - mittalsa08@gmail.com
Kunj Patel, MD - kunj.patel@gmail.com
Olga Reynbakh, MD - olgareynbakh@gmail.com

Public Health Committee

This committee deals with a wide array of issues affecting public health—domestically and internationally. The committee will assist the AMA-RFS Governing Council in developing policy positions, writing reports, and educating resident and fellow members of the AMA about critical public health issues. A particular focus this term cycle is on helping to establish the AMA-RFS's national presence as both an advocate for and leader in improving resident and fellow trainee's health and wellness.   Additionally, the committee will assist residents and fellows to develop grassroots programs that tackle public health issues in their local communities. Finally, the committee will work with its counterpart in the Medical Student Section to focus on more comprehensive collaborations and longitudinal programming initiatives including but not limited to: maintaining a database of international rotations for medical students and residents,  providing an active mentorship match process, and engaging medical students in other civic and educational opportunities to address public health in its broader context. " The committee members are:

Chris Sudduth, MD - Governing Council Liaison
christopher.sudduth@gmail.com

Elizabeth Wiley, MD - Chair
elizabeth.wiley.md@gmail.com

Zachary Connor, MD - zacbookpro@gmail.com
Michael Hansen, MD - michael.a.hansen@uth.tmc.edu
Calvin Kagan, MD - Cmk02006@gmail.com
Furqan Nusair,MD - furqannusair@hotmail.com
Oluwatosin Omole, MD - ooomole@gmail.com
Emilie Prot, MD - eprot@alumni.nd.edu
Furqan Nusair,MD - furqannusair@hotmail.com
Najibah Rehman, MD - nkrehman83@gmail.com
Thamer Sartawi, MD - thamer.sartawi@gmail.com
Rachel Solnick, MD - rachel.solnick@yale.edu
Wallace Thomas, MD - drwallacethomas@gmail.com
Mariam Totonchy, MD - mariam.totonchy@yale.edu
Laia Jimena Vazquez Guillamet, MD - laiavgll@gmail.com

Committee on Business and Economics

The CBE is working on issues relating to the business and economics of medicine that residents and fellows face on a national and individual scope. The topic of business in medical training is in its infancy, providing an enormous opportunity for this committee to be influential in the coming months and years. The committee is actively working on a business education video series addressing topics ranging from retirement, loan repayment, payment models and beyond. Cost benefit analysis and opportunity cost calculations are conducted on a range of decisions that residents and fellows make to determine the best outcome for this demographic. Furthermore, fiscally themed resolutions are introduced to the House of Delegates keeping the best interests of residents and fellows in mind while recognizing the evolving nature of healthcare in America. The committee members are:

Ryan Ribeira, MD - Governing Council Liaison
RJRibeira@gmail.com

Sandeep Krishnan, MD - Chair
xsandeepx@gmail.com

Linda Wu, MD - Vice Chair 
wu.linda.x@gmail.com

Joseph Cavallo, MD - josephcavallo@gmail.com
Christopher Chen, MD - chrischen10@gmail.com
Joseph Chiweshe, MD - joseph.chiweshe@uky.edu
Andrew  Colucci, MD - AColucci@bidmc.harvard.edu
Sean Moran, MD - Smmoran1@gmail.com
Michael Politis, MD - mjp189@gmail.com
Scott Resnick, MD - scott.resnick@UHhospitals.org
Dillenia Rosica, MD - dillenia.rosica@gmail.com
Shivam Shah, MD - shah.shivam@gmail.com