• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

AMA-MSS Regions


The AMA-MSS is composed of seven geographic regions. AMA-MSS regions are responsible for:

  • providing a structure for the election of Regional Delegates;
  • providing students with a home within the AMA-MSS;
  • serving as a communication unit for the AMA-MSS;
  • providing a means to foster collaboration between AMA-MSS sections and state medical student sections; and
  • facilitating interaction between new sections and well-established sections.

Each AMA-MSS region is governed by a Region Chair and a Region Vice Chair. A number of regions elect additional leaders to assist in accomplishing the goals of the region.

Region Composition

Region 1
Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington (WWAMI), Wyoming

Region 2
Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Wisconsin

Region 3
Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Texas

Region 4
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee

Region 5
Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, West Virginia

Region 6
Delaware, District of Columbia, New Jersey, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia

Region 7
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont

Region Leaders