• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Meet Your AMA-MSS Governing Council

Grayson Wilkes Armstrong, MSS Chair

Grayson Wilkes Armstrong, Chair

Alpert Medical School of Brown University



Oversees the council, provides direction for AMA-MSS initiatives, and represents the AMA-MSS.

Joshua Lesko, MSS Vice Chair

Joshua Lesko, Vice Chair

Eastern Virginia Medical School



Liaison to the student representatives to AMA Councils and Committees and assists the Chair with management of the Section.

Mark A. Kashtan, MSS Delegate

Mark A. Kashtan, Delegate

Medical College of Wisconsin



Presents and coordinates testimony and advocates at the AMA House of Delegates for AMA policy that benefits students. Analyzes the topics the AMA has under discussion, identifies those issues of importance to students and summarizes the actions taken on those issues by the House of Delegates.

Paul Pukurdpol, MSS Alternate Delegate

Paul Pukurdpol, Alternate Delegate

University of Colorado School of Medicine



Works in coordination with the MSS Delegate.

Ravi Shah, MSS At-Large Officer

Ravi Shah, At-Large Officer

Rutgers New Jersey Medical School



Coordinates special projects (such as the National Service Project) for the MSS and acts as the primary liaison to student leaders of each region, state and school.

Laura Stone McGuire, MSS Speaker

Laura Stone McGuire, Speaker

University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine



Assists in the programming and presides over two national meetings of the MSS Assembly, oversees and enforces campaign rules, and organizes and leads orientation for new delegates and alternate delegates at Assembly Meeting.

Jason D. Hall, MSS Vice Speaker

Jason D. Hall, Vice Speaker

University of Alabama School of Medicine



Works in coordination with the MSS Speaker.


Atul Nakhasi, Immediate Past Chair

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine



Taylor DesRosiers, Government Relations Advocacy Fellow (GRAF)

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine



The Fellow is responsible for working with the AMA's federal advocacy team to advance the Association's legislative agenda and policies on behalf of physicians, patients, and medical students. Each year the Fellow organizes Advocacy Day to increase awareness of legislative issues and is instrumental in helping foster students’ relationships with legislatures through Congressional visits.

Samuel J Mackenzie, Medical Student Trustee

Samuel J Mackenzie, Medical Student Trustee

SUNY Upstate Medical University