• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

AMA-MSS Councilors and Representatives

Medical student member of the AMA are appointed by the AMA-MSS Governing Council and the AMA Board of Trustees to serve on each of the seven AMA Councils. These student Councilors are responsible for providing the student perspective on topics discussed by the Councils and for reporting back to the AMA-MSS on Council actions and activities.

Medical student members of the AMA are also appointed to serve as representatives/liaisons to other AMA groups and to organizations that work closely with the AMA. These students represent the AMA-MSS position on various issues and report back to the AMA-MSS on activities that have the potential to affect medical students.

Apply to serve on on a Council by Jan. 31, 2015

Medical student members of AMA Councils

AMA Council on Constitution and Bylaws
Meenakshi Davuluri
SUNY Upstate College of Medicine

AMA Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs (CEJA)
Katie Skimmings
Virginia Commonwealth University

AMA Council on Legislation (COL)
Meena Thatikunta
Northeast Ohio Medical University

AMA Council on Long Range Planning and Development (CLRPD)
Omar Maniya
Georgetown University School of Medicine

AMA Council on Medical Education (CME)
Elizabeth Griffiths
University of California, San Diego School of Medicine

AMA Council on Medical Service (CMS)
Dina Marie Pitta
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine

AMA Council on Science and Public Health (CSAPH)
Marin McCutcheon
Tulane University School of Medicine

Read more about the AMA Councils

Medical student representatives to other groups and organizations

AMA Advisory Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues (LGBT)
Kristen Eckstrand
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

AMA Foundation (AMAF)
Calvin Kagan
University of Vermont College of Medicine

AMA Minority Affairs Section (MAS)
Rachael King
University of South Florida Morsani College of Medicine

AMA Women Physicians Section (WPS)
Rachel Solnick
Baylor College of Medicine

American Medical Political Action Committee (AMPAC)
Amy Ho
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME)
Jacob DeVolder
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME)
Karan Desai
Albany Medical College

National Resident Matching Program (NRMP)
Francis Deng
Washington University School of Medicine