• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Physician Resources for CME

American Medical Association (AMA) Physician's Recognition Award (PRA)

Be recognized…

You've shown your commitment to patient care through continuing medical education (CME), and you deserve to be recognized for your dedication and achievement.

We invite all physicians—or practice staff acting on their behalf—to apply for the prestigious American Medical Association (AMA) Physician's Recognition Award (PRA). The AMA established the AMA PRA in 1968 and for more than 40 years has recognized physicians who earn at least an average of 50 credits per year from educational activities that meet the AMA standards. For more information about the AMA PRA credit system, view the AMA Physician's Recognition Award Booklet 2010.

Be recognized by the AMA, an organization your patients respect and trust. AMA PRA certificates are elegant and can be framed for display in your office.

Who is eligible to receive the AMA PRA?

Physicians (MDs, DOs or those with equivalent degrees earned outside the U.S.) may apply for the AMA PRA if they hold a valid and current license issued by either one of the U.S., Canadian or Mexican licensing jurisdictions or are engaged in residency training in an Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) accredited program. Non-physician health professionals are not eligible for this award.

How can I earn the AMA PRA?

How do I apply for the AMA PRA?

Why should I apply for the AMA PRA

Professional recognition
Demonstrate to your colleagues and patients that you are committed to continually expanding your knowledge and improving your skills by participating in continuing medical education.

Wide state acceptance

The AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ system has become the CME standard for licensing boards and specialty organizations nationwide and is recognized by all U.S. jurisdictions. Thirty-nine states/territories will accept the AMA PRA certificate or the AMA approved AMA PRA application as proof of having met the CME requirements for licensure, simplifying the medical re-licensure process.

Joint Commission

The approved AMA PRA application meets Joint Commission CME reporting requirements in connection with a hospital's accreditation process.

Direct credit

Physician may claim AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ directly from the AMA for learning that occurs as a result of teaching in live CME activities, being the lead author of poster presentations or published articles, obtaining a medically related advanced degree, American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) member board certification and Maintenance of Certification (MOC). Credit can only be awarded for activities taking place or completed within the last six years.

Direct credit information and application

Residents application for AMA PRA and direct credit

Participants in an Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) accredited residency or fellowship program may apply for the AMA PRA and Direct Credit certificates. Residents and fellows can obtain a one, two or three-year AMA PRA commensurate with the number of years completed in the residency or fellowship program. In addition, residents and fellows may also apply for 20 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ for up to three years of participation in an ACGME accredited residency or fellowship program completed within the last six years.

Resident application for AMA PRA and direct credit

Additional resources

The Continuing Professional Development of Physicians: From Research to Practice
This 16 chapter book on CPD embraces a broad view of lifelong learning for physicians. All who are dedicated to assisting physicians in learning and improving health care will find the book to be forward-looking, comprehensive, thought-provoking, and informative.

CPPD contacts