• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

AMA Foundation Names Minority Scholars Award Recipients

For immediate release:
May 7, 2014

Eleven outstanding students receive scholarships to help increase physician workforce diversity and reduce health care disparities

CHICAGO – The American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation presented eleven outstanding medical students from across the country with Minority Scholars Awards in an effort to promote diversity, encourage the elimination of health care disparities, and alleviate the high cost of medical education. This year marks the tenth anniversary of this scholarship program.

The awards recognize scholastic achievement, financial need, and commitment to improving minority health among first or second-year students in historically underrepresented groups in the medical profession. Less than 9 percent of U.S. physicians fall within these groups, which include African American/Black, American Indian, Native Hawaiian, Alaska Native, and Hispanic/Latino.

As the philanthropic arm of the American Medical Association, the AMA Foundation has made it a priority to help medical students handle the rising cost of their education. On average, future physicians graduate approximately $170,000 in debt, and in many cases the debt load is much higher.

The Minority Scholars Awards are given in partnership with the AMA Minority Affairs Section (MAS), with support from Pfizer Inc.  The National Business Group on Health partially supports one scholarship in honor of the late Ronald M. Davis, MD, Past-President of the AMA, which is granted to a minority medical student who has an interest in primary care.  Additional support is provided by the AMA MAS Governing Council and other generous donors.

New cardiology scholarship awarded

Last year, the AMA Foundation and the Association of Black Cardiologists (ABC) partnered to create a scholarship that will promote diversity in medicine, encourage commitment to eliminating health care disparities, and support future cardiologists, while helping to alleviate medical student debt.

The Dr. Richard Allen Williams & Genita Evangelista Johnson /Association of Black Cardiologists Scholarship recognizes a first- or second-year African-American medical student with an expressed interest in cardiology. This scholarship, which is a part of the Minority Scholars Award program, was awarded for the first time this year.

2014 scholarship recipients:

Brittany Bruce, University of Kansas School of Medicine
Candice Carpenter, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Katia Chavez, University of Vermont College of Medicine
Nicolas Fletcher, Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
Rosibel Hernandez, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Terrell Holloway, Icahn School of Medicine at Moutn Sinai
Jasmine Lemmons, Drexel University College of Medicine
Oscar Padilla, Tufts University School of Medicine
Laura Ramirez, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
Jalia Tucker, Chicago School of Medicine at Rosalind Franklin University
Kathryn Harris, Meharry Medical College - Dr. Richard Allen Williams & Genita Evangelista Johnson /Association of Black Cardiologists Scholarship

# # #

Media Contact:
Amy Jenkins, AMA Foundation
(312) 464-5864