• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Advancing public health and medical scholarship since 1950.

Excellence in Medicine named award recipients at the AMA Annual Meeting.

The 2014 Minority Scholars Award recipients at the AMA Annual Meeting.

2014 Leadership Award recipients at the AMA Annual Meeting.

Volunteer physician Dr. Shiroff cares for diabetes patients at the Volunteers in Medicine Southern Nevada clinic.

Kateena Johnson will use her Seed Grant to conduct HIV/AIDS research.

Thomas Chen of the University of Illinois at Chicago, an AMA Foundation 2013 Physicians of Tomorrow Award Recipient.

AMA Foundation

Mission: To advance public health and medical scholarship through philanthropic support of physician-directed initiatives.

Vision: To be the center of philanthropic activity that enables the medical community to help people lead healthier lives.

Public Health

The AMA Foundation is committed to improving the health of Americans by increasing support for public health programs, including grants for free clinics, health education projects and health literacy tools.

Medical Education

Today’s medical students and residents face greater financial pressures than ever before. The AMA Foundation provides scholarships and research grants to outstanding physicians-in-training.

Learn More

Follow the AMA Foundation on .



Donate Now

Donate Today


Foundation Video



Sign up to receive the monthly E-newsletter.

See the November E-newsletter.

Read the latest issue of the AMA Foundation Quarterly.


Foundation News

The AMA Foundation announced R. Barkley Payne as its new executive director. To learn more, read the press release.

Applications are now available for several programs. To learn more, or to apply for an award, please visit the links below:

Seed Grant Research Awards are granted to young researchers for small research projects. This year's awards will be for projects researching cardiovascular/pulmonary diseases, pancreatic cancer, and neoplastic diseases. Applications are due December 5, 2014.

The Excellence in Medicine Awards recognize senior physicians for careers committed to service, community involvement, altruism, leadership and dedication to patient care. There are four major awards. Applications are due January 20, 2015.

The Excellence in Medicine Leadership Awards are presented to medical students residents, and young physicians who demonstrate leadership. Applications are due January 20, 2015.

Minority Scholars Awards are presented to Hispanic, American Indian, African-American, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian students to encourage diversity in the medical profession and alleviate student debt. Applications are currently available to medical schools and are due March 6, 2015.