• A
  • |
  • A
  • Text size

Recipients of the 2012 Dr. Nathan Davis Awards

The American Medical Association (AMA) presented six recipients with the 2012 Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Government Service – the highest award for elected officials and government employees from the nation’s largest physician organization.

The awards, named for the founding father of the AMA, recognize elected and career officials in federal, state or municipal service whose contributions have promoted the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health. This year marks the 22nd anniversary of the Dr. Nathan Davis Awards. The awards were presented in conjunction with the AMA National Advocacy Conference at the Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel in Washington, D.C.

United States Senator

The Honorable Debbie Stabenow
United States Senate

United States Representative

The Honorable Allyson Y. Schwartz
United States House of Representatives
Representative of the 13th District of Pennsylvania

Member of the Executive Branch in Career Public Service

Leon Esterowitz, PhD
Program Director, Biophotonics
Directorate for Engineering, National Science Foundation

Member of the Executive Branch in Uniform Service

Lieutenant General Eric B. Schoomaker, MD, PhD
Surgeon General and Command General, USA MEDCOM
United States Army

Member of a State Legislature

The Honorable Kemp Hannon
New York State Senate

Career Public Servant at the State or Local Level

Richard Powers, MD
Associate Professor of Pathology
University of Alabama at Birmingham